happiness-it’s the small things.

Well. Large things can bring happiness too but I’d like to focus elsewhere today.

For starters, this kid.

His mother informs me that he’ll walk around the house saying, ‘Wes..kels….roomba…gladys..’ How cute is that. And for those who do not know of roomba, that would be the household machinery that saves my sanity-a robot vacuum cleaner. If you have wood floor (or anything besides carpet) I highly recommend. But back to his little list. I imagine that come summer time, ‘pool’ will be added. And that will be quite enjoyable.

Going through the drive through at the bank and having the lady behind the window ask me if my dog (who is now standing in my lap, staring at said lady and wagging her tail furiously) is a he or a she. I responded, ‘She’s a she,’ and wondered at the seemingly odd question. ‘Is she allowed to have treats?’ came next and Gladys and I both shook our heads yes. And driving away with Gladys cheerfully munching away made me grin.

My bulbs.

The one hundred and ninety are popping up and bringing great cheer. Along with our new addition to the patio. You should come by and see it. Pretty fabulous.

Turning off the light, sinking into my pillow and hearing click, click, click, (Glady’s nails on the wood floor), then, scratch scratch on the door. And all I hear is, ‘Hi. Um. Mom? Dad? You there? See, it’s kinda dark out here and I’m possibly having a bad dream and a pat on the head would sure be nice…’ And I holler out, ‘Gladys, go get in your bed.’ Click, click, click, flop. Makes me chuckle and snort. And that is the story I relayed when my dear friend told me that Gladys dominates the blog and shouts that I need a kid. Snort.

And speaking of babies and dear friends, I was reminded again how short the distance is to Richmond and spent the day with the above mentioned. And held a baby that was pretty much like holding melted butter.

It was pretty sweet.

Happy days, my friends, happy days.

About A Story of Us

My grandparents 57th wedding anniversary and my first wedding anniversary motivated to journal the adventures life brought our way . I hope to amuse the friends and family I have all over the country and, when I am my grandmothers age, look back at what I have written and chuckle. It's been four years since I began and the snickers I bring myself as I look back propel me to write on. Cheers to the future and happy memories of the past.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to happiness-it’s the small things.

  1. the 4th says:

    You compared holding a baby to holding melted butter? are you familiar with the symptoms of Clostridium botulinum? Flaccid paralysis comes to mind.

  2. your mother says:

    WOW. your first picture is lisamaksoudian.com worthy…..his mother/father must melt at that image. and i just love that it is the little things that make you smile/content/happy because that is what i live by. i planted lettuce and herbs today. i had 2 dogs thoroughly confused because i was dressed in “walk dog attire”. they finally laid down in the dirt while i dug away. i was so content. that little babe-insky you are holding…such sweetness. BTW. I love your blouse, I’ve never seen that?

  3. dbowiniii says:

    I’m thinking that blouse is something I found for you as I dilligently waded through boxes at that JCrew warehouse sale. That was a labor of love.

  4. close. this was the next store that we waited hours for it to open on the downtown mall. more diligence.

  5. dbowiniii says:

    This is cool. Kind of like a family conversation in a weird kind of way. What happened to all your other friends?

  6. Lindsey says:

    I’m here!
    That’s my little boy up there! He is my doll, and I melt most every day over the little things that he says. That other little baby, Oh man. L, she sure is precious! I would love to hold her next time we’re all together. She makes my heart smile. Great post today, Kels. Little Things are what makes life great.

  7. Auntie A says:

    I think I enjoyed the comments more than the blog 🙂 Sorry Kels, I love you too. I too, thought said labor of love blouse was a beauty.

Leave a Reply

