what a walk with Harley really looks like.

I fear I may bore you with another tale of Harley. But this morning really was just too rich not to share.

I do enjoy having Harley along. He’s big. He’s cute. He’s a nut.

He’s also a bit stubborn. And by taking him, you’re walk might be a mile longer than you planned on it being.

So as I walk by his house I’m never sure if I really want him to come with us. Dad and I walked by once and determined to never look in his direction thinking that maybe if we pretended that he wasn’t there, he would assume that we weren’t there either.

Strangely enough, it worked. Hasn’t since then.

This is what I see every time I approach.

Harley, completely stretched out, thoroughly enjoying life.

We quietly walk by, with Glad looking eagerly in his direction. And that’s that. Over he bounds.

And always with a delighted tail wag for Gladys. He’s a wee bit bigger than she is.

So off we trot. Harley is perfectly happy to lead the charge, bumble faithfully along behind, walk right in step with you, and go off on various adventures, always returning with the, ‘ah! There you are!’

The water holes are his highlight.

But he’s a fan of the lake too. A bit more serene.

He’s got quite an impressive ‘shake off’. Water goes a long way.

And then the problem arises. Taking him home. I’ll be fine once we get our fence repaired (as in new fence), but right now I do not want to deal with trying to get the dumb dog out of the pool by myself.

I walk with him til I can see his street. Then Glad and I stand stoically on the side of the road and firmly tell him to go home.

The first time it worked. The second time it sorta worked. Today? Epic fail.

I stood stoically and he gave his, ‘really?’ face.

After firmly saying, ‘Go Home!’, about a hundred times, he turned and slowly plodded up the street until he was out of sight.

Glad and I tiptoed down a hill, up a hill, and down the next one, every so often looking over our shoulder. Cause this is what you dread.

‘Hi guys! Great to see you again! Can we go swim in your pool now?’

Yes, this happened twice today. I was not stoic enough.

Hoping the third time would be the charm, I walked him all the way to his home.

And sternly told him to stay.

He listened real well and the moment I’d turn to walk away, he’d happily join.

I searched around for something to tie him to and came up with this.

And I’d kinda love to drive by to see if Harley is indeed, still tied to the hose. He didn’t seem too bothered by it.

I’d love to know what his owners think.

Quite the morning venture.

By the way, that’s Rambo in the background. According to John, the owner, Harley just vaults the fence. And yes, John has never seen a dog that like wahter as much Harley does.

About A Story of Us

My grandparents 57th wedding anniversary and my first wedding anniversary motivated to journal the adventures life brought our way . I hope to amuse the friends and family I have all over the country and, when I am my grandmothers age, look back at what I have written and chuckle. It's been four years since I began and the snickers I bring myself as I look back propel me to write on. Cheers to the future and happy memories of the past.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to what a walk with Harley really looks like.

  1. Jana says:

    Awesome! It was probably that white iPhone taking pictures of him that made him keep coming back!! 🙂

  2. Aw! Loving all these posts- they bring me happiness in my short study breaks!

Leave a Reply

