*yawn…

Good afternoon. I’ve just woken up from my latest nap. It was pretty delightful. Stretched out in the full sun with Gladys keeping me company.

This morning was early. I rolled out of bed at four, only to walk dazedly into the kitchen to hear Dad talking to Wes about speaking in tongues.

Really? Who talks about speaking in tongues at four am? Actually, who talks?

Gladys doesn’t. My family found many similarities between us this morning. Although Glad was right in the middle of foot traffic she stayed curled up in her bed for a half hour as the house got ready to go and came out only when coaxed.

(If you’re wondering why the pictures are dark, it’s because it was four am.) (Thank you Captain Obvious.)

She then hopped into the car, curled back into a ball, and went right back to sleep. Rather like myself.

I believe we made it to Dulles in good time but I actually have no idea. It was still dark outside and glancing at a clock was not high on my priority list. I stumbled from the car, hugged my parents a few times, told them thanks for coming, Gladys peered out from the window, and I stumbled back into the car to snooze the whole way home. Poor Wes. He really is a champ.

Gladys was rearing to go so when I got home we both downed a quick breakfast and headed outdoors. The past few days have been filled with many walks. And as we ventured down the hill, Glad kept looking around as if wondering where those other cool people were that had been joining us. It was kind of lonesome. So I was glad when Harley joined us. And I forget that you guys don’t know yet who Harley is. How sad. Perhaps next post.

It’s been a beautiful day. Absolutely gorgeous. I’ve been lounging outside receiving texts from the parents. It’s remarkable to me that they’re already in California and have been for several hours. We live in quite the day and age. And I’m very thankful for the times we have.

More to come.

Love.

 

 

 

 

About A Story of Us

My grandparents 57th wedding anniversary and my first wedding anniversary motivated to journal the adventures life brought our way . I hope to amuse the friends and family I have all over the country and, when I am my grandmothers age, look back at what I have written and chuckle. It's been four years since I began and the snickers I bring myself as I look back propel me to write on. Cheers to the future and happy memories of the past.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to *yawn…

  1. Amber says:

    so glad that i’m not the only one who cant handle very early mornings or less than like 7-8 hrs worth of sleep and loves to take naps 🙂

  2. Auntie A says:

    I can just picture that whole scenario…I’m okay early in the morning…its being woke up in the middle of the night by your dad and my husband grinding coffee beans and acting like it was 2 in the afternoon. 🙂 Oh and I love naps too and I’m glad to see you and Gladys are cut from the same cloth and that Wes is awesome :). Love you.

Leave a Reply

