knowledge is empowerment

I adore obedience class. Adore. (For Gladys). (Although when my dad asked me why I was going to obedience class and I told him I felt like I needed it even more than Gladys he snorted and chuckled and said, ‘I’ll bet a lot of people would agree with you.’ Dad…)

Anyways…

And I cannot believe I’ve never even mentioned it here. After all, we’ve been going for five weeks now. Graduation is coming up this Saturday. So nice that my parents will be able to witness especially since one parent repeatedly remarked, ‘Beagle huh, can you even train a beagle?’ Said parent has since apologized after multiple videos of Gladys performing like a champ and remarked, ‘Well, she must have some border collie in her.’

Chuckle.

And while Wes and I are pretty confidant that Gladys is the best in class, there’s no arguing that she definitely wins hands down for paying best attention in class.

Kinda reminds me of Hermione Granger. Always dying to be chosen for the volunteer in class. ‘Ooo pick me, pick me!’

It really is quite hilarious.

I know all the dogs names in class but none of the owners. Kinda sad.

From left to right we’ve got Peanut who likes to take on twelve year old Lacy. Next is Sadie who probably vies with Gladys for best in class and then mop dog Kima.

Next up is the typical Chihuahua with the typical Chihuahua owner. Apologies for stereotyping.

His name is Chico and yes, he lifts his leg on whatever he can find.

Next up is Jake, part border collie and a great pal of Gladys.

Not pictured are Buster, another 8 year old Pit Bull, and Tobey, a scared poof dog.

I leave dog class so inspired. I love the ‘aha’ moments for me and Gladys. To graduate you must know sit, down, stay (for 15 seconds in the sit and down position), watch me (15 seconds), come, sitting after coming and walking politely on a leash.

Glad loves class just as much as I and adores her training sessions that we do at home.

The other day we were trying to figure out how to teach her ‘roll over’. After epicly failing for about fifteen minutes, we googled it.

I now have a new hero. Zak George. He’s awesome. Wesley and I watched and watched his training movies. Here’s a tiny little taste to totally inspire you. Swoon.

So after graduation comes intermediate and then advanced-providing we graduate.

So much fun.

About A Story of Us

My grandparents 57th wedding anniversary and my first wedding anniversary motivated to journal the adventures life brought our way . I hope to amuse the friends and family I have all over the country and, when I am my grandmothers age, look back at what I have written and chuckle. It's been four years since I began and the snickers I bring myself as I look back propel me to write on. Cheers to the future and happy memories of the past.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to knowledge is empowerment

  1. Dana says:

    I wants dog that obeys!!!! I’m so happy for you and Wes on you super sweet obedient dog!!!! 🙂

  2. Lean says:

    What great fun! Your video clip is amazing! Hope Glad will obey you like that 🙂

  3. Rhonda Balderson says:

    My mom has a chihuahua – what areyou saying?

  4. Auntie A says:

    Hilarious. We (Avery and I ) loved it. I especially love your disparaging remarks about Chihuahua owners. I wish we could ship Shaggy out for a play date/boarding school adventure with Gladys.

  5. Virginia Friend says:

    That Chihuahua owner pictured….I’ve seen her many times. I can’t figure out where. Probably at Lane Bryant. I tend to frequent that store.

Leave a Reply

