whiter than snow.

That, my friends, is pretty darn white.

And that was a happy thought on Monday morning. And yes, this post is a bit day late and dollar short. But these pictures just made me post it.

We stayed up late Sunday night watching the snow. It was hard to go to bed because it’s just so beautiful and peaceful. But we finally did and Monday morning was absolutely stunning. While I waited fifteen minutes for my windshield wipers to thaw (yes, they caused me to be fifteen minutes late to work), I snapped a few pictures.

Breathtaking people. Funny enough, this was my first substantial snow storm to go through and see the aftermath. I was basking in Hawaii when the first crazy one hit in December 2009 and hopped on a plane to California in February 2010 as the second doozer came through. Of course, there’s been a few in between, but I don’t think this much or this beautiful.

As I drove along through the fairy tale world on my way to work, I kept feeling like, ‘Is this real life?’ And if you don’t know where that’s from, here you go. I was jolted to reality when someone threw a snowball smack dab at my face on the windshield.

Later determined it was just a clump falling from a tree. Rather startling though.

It was gorgeous. Very excited for my seventy degree day tomorrow and for the next snow storm. Kinda wish it would happen when my parents are here. They need to experience Virginia at some point.

And hopefully next blog will be about something other than snow.

Until then!

 

About A Story of Us

My grandparents 57th wedding anniversary and my first wedding anniversary motivated to journal the adventures life brought our way . I hope to amuse the friends and family I have all over the country and, when I am my grandmothers age, look back at what I have written and chuckle. It's been four years since I began and the snickers I bring myself as I look back propel me to write on. Cheers to the future and happy memories of the past.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to whiter than snow.

  1. your mother says:

    you do such a good job with pictures and details I feel as tho I am there experiencing it with you…so no, I really don’t need a snow storm while I am there….especially since I was barefoot today. yeppers winter clothes shoved to the way back of the closet. ALL DONE with winter.

  2. In Awe says:

    It’s painted across
    The blue, blue sky
    It sparkles in the night
    Under the stars so bright
    I feel its whisper
    In the ocean breeze (soft winter snow? hmm, doesn’t jive)
    All around me
    It surrounds me
    The glory
    Glory
    The glory of
    Our great and awesome God

    The heavens declare
    And so shall I
    All of His greatness
    All of His glory

  3. laurie says:

    it was a glorious snow. probably the prettiest i’ve ever seen. and the most amazing thing…it’s a barefoot day today! hooray! miss you kels. it’s been forever. =)

  4. ASwifty says:

    Kels, you are a lucky girl to be experiencing such beauty. I hope you love it even if you’re done with it now. =)
    Today here will be in the 70’s just like yesterday, and I’m going to the river with my sister and Mel and her kids. It may not be as wonderful as snow, but I’m planning on embracing the sunshine and dangling my feet in the water. Last evening Kevin took me to Cayucous and we walked until sunset. It was the most beautiful CA beach weather I’ve ever experienced. Slight breeze, but not WIND. And quite warm. I didn’t want to leave.
    So anyway, I should have been diligent like you are, and taken a picture.
    Maybe if my husband got me a swanky white iphone….

Leave a Reply

