I start each day with…

Paul Cummings.

Well not really. Only Allstate days. And only after I have a nice relaxed morning at home. (ha).

Paul and I are buddies. We go way back. I kinda feel towards him how I feel towards P-dub. I’d love to get together and chat.

That I love my mornings with Paul shows how truly remarkable Mr. PC really is. Because while I enjoy mornings once I’m up, I generally enjoy them quietly. Not with some person yakking in my ear.

Paul is this southern gentleman with a great voice and quite the grin. We spend time together so that I can become a better salesperson (since I spend so much time selling), but it’s the little life lessons that he’s learned from his mom, grandfather and others that are delivered with that grin of his that make me just love him. (He truly does deliver amazing thought processes on how to be the best salesperson you can be).

Chuckle. Great guy. Here’s why I love him and a few things I’ve learned.

From his mom. ‘Empathy is the ability to make other people feel better about themselves because they’ve interacted with you.’

Love that.

‘Ego to me means Edging God Out, and since He’s got the big stick, I try not to do that. I just believe that that’s not a real smart decision for me to make.’

Said with that big grin on his face. On a video being watched by who knows how many Allstate employees. So great.

‘The more miserable you are, the happier your ghost is. You need to tell your ghost to shut up.’

‘If I am spiritually sound, I am mentally strong.’ ‘I’m not here to tell you what to believe but the best place to look is up.’

On his list of daily objectives-‘I greeted others with love.’

‘Angels fly because they take themselves lightly.’

‘Today I’m going to be their bright light, not their dim light.’

From his grandfather. ‘A beautiful sunrise is most beautiful when you’re awake to see it.’ Yeah. That one was in the context of getting up 30 minutes earlier so you can think of something positive, read something positive, and watch something positive. Might need to work on that a bit.

And there’s more. And I know I didn’t convey his persona very well so you should just hop over here to see him chat for a brief minute.

And now please excuse me while I enjoy a cup of coffee with Mr. Cummings.

About A Story of Us

My grandparents 57th wedding anniversary and my first wedding anniversary motivated to journal the adventures life brought our way . I hope to amuse the friends and family I have all over the country and, when I am my grandmothers age, look back at what I have written and chuckle. It's been four years since I began and the snickers I bring myself as I look back propel me to write on. Cheers to the future and happy memories of the past.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to I start each day with…

  1. Ro says:

    The quote from his grandfather sounds like something your Grandpa would say. I have always loved his ‘nuggets’. Thanks for the inspiring post Kelsey, and have a wonderful day 🙂

Leave a Reply

