indoor cheer

In November of 2011 I was gearing up for the ferocious and mighty Virginia Winter. Winter with a capital W. It generally deserves it. I was doing projects like mad, (err…projects. What are those? Someone inspire me.), planting bulbs so that I would have hope for spring, and bringing lots of greenery inside to calm my soul.

And I bought a bunch of paperwhite bulbs to bring me the endless joy that comes with having fresh flowers . And left them in the closet for months. I’d see them, feel guilty, and shut the door. Why? Oh didn’t really have a gorgeous bowl for them to rest in. Or beautiful rocks for them to abide in.

Then I saw this blog showing her freshly planted paperwhites and was like. What in the world are those doing in the closet.

Out they came.

I grabbed the bowl from on top of the microwave and some rocks from the driveway.

One of the better decisions I’ve made.

I planted the bulbs on a Tuesday, January 17th, and one week later, they looked like this.

It is incredibly fun to watch something grow before your very eyes.

Five days later I got my first bloom.

And started to become intoxicated by the smell.

Three days later…

A glorious bundle of intoxicating, fresh flowers. Happiness lives on the dining room table.

And as I was studying her blooms four days later, I discovered that she even sparkles.

I love this photo. Taken my dear white iphone with no filters or editing. Flowers just speaking for themselves.

They just celebrated their third anniversary today and are continuing to thrive.

I’d highly recommend getting yourself aquainted with a bunch.

They’ll make you smile.

About A Story of Us

My grandparents 57th wedding anniversary and my first wedding anniversary motivated to journal the adventures life brought our way . I hope to amuse the friends and family I have all over the country and, when I am my grandmothers age, look back at what I have written and chuckle. It's been four years since I began and the snickers I bring myself as I look back propel me to write on. Cheers to the future and happy memories of the past.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to indoor cheer

  1. Whitney says:

    Those are so pretty! I might have to get some. 🙂

  2. Aunt Stace says:

    You’ve inspired me! You make it look so easy. Is it really?

  3. totally. you just fill the bowl up with water so that the bulbs are tantalized but not just sitting in lots of water. then they’ll sprout roots and you just have to make sure the roots have access to water. if i can do it, you can auntie.

  4. Tracy says:

    Beautiful Kelsey! I love bulbs and the flowers they sprout! These ones are just gorgeous! Funny how flowers can make me happy….even through a picture.:)

  5. Aw yay! Your flowers look amazing! The only thing that’s missing is a picture of the flowers with Gladys sitting at the table behind them 🙂 Oh, and thanks for the feature 😉

  6. auntie a says:

    Wow, that is inspiring! I wonder if I have anything that wonderful in one of my closets 🙂 Hmmm. Pray tell can you get these bulbs just anywhere? I’m with Stacy, Glad you answered her post 🙂

  7. L. Morey says:

    These are great indoor cheer. But, you know what cheered me yesterday? The news of my nephew and your cousin expecting twins! Yay!!!

Leave a Reply

