all in a days work.

Hi. It’s me today. Kelsey.

So as I sat at work today I wondered what on earth I could blog about besides Gladys. She’s kinda consuming all my creative juices. I can’t think about anything else too interesting to talk about.

And then I thought about how I hadn’t even seen her today. And I wondered how she was doing with Wesley. (She goes to work with him when I go to work). And wondered if she was ok. And what if a car ran over her. And what if I had to tell you she died.

That all made me a bit edgy. So I texted Wes.

In the meantime, it was still the early morning hours of work. And I have this little system in the morning. I watch my educational videos, then scan papers. This takes a minimum of an hour and a half and allows me to wake up and then be friendly to everyone else.

Well, we had a busy day planned so I kept getting interrupted by various tasks. Which is fine. And good. I just like to finish one thing before I start another. And I was already edgy.

And the boss was vacuuming everywhere. And it was loud.

And then he parked it in my office. The office I share with another fellow. As a not so subtle hint.

Right about then my feminist side overtook me and I began a silent war with my fellow office partner as to who would vacuum. I filled the room with silent reasons as to why I was not going to vacuum the dumb office.

A half hour into this war, I wondered if I was the only one fighting. You know how you get so focused on your battles only to realize that you may not have any opposition? Well I wondered. But wasn’t ready to give in.

And then I looked at my blog. And saw that happy dog. And remembered her wagging tail. And heard back from Wesley that she was having a great day. And I smiled for the rest of my day. (I need a therapy dog).

And then I came home and went on a walk with a happy husband and a wagging dog.

Isn’t she cute? And he?

Smells like a piña colada.

Great way to end the day.

(I did win the war. And felt a little bad when he kindly offered to vacuum under my desk. I said thank you real prettily though).

snort.

About A Story of Us

My grandparents 57th wedding anniversary and my first wedding anniversary motivated to journal the adventures life brought our way . I hope to amuse the friends and family I have all over the country and, when I am my grandmothers age, look back at what I have written and chuckle. It's been four years since I began and the snickers I bring myself as I look back propel me to write on. Cheers to the future and happy memories of the past.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to all in a days work.

  1. your mother says:

    Oh my word, this post made me laugh…I have to admit I do wonder if your readers laugh at you? Do they know you like I know you and so all these words together sum up you?? Just love dear Gladys!

    • your mother says:

      um I forgot…can you please tell your readers you DID in fact Chlorox the kitchen sink right after Gladys hopped out? I would not want them thinking you were raised on the wrong side of the tracks….

  2. Jana says:

    Forgot how that shampoo smelled! 🙂 And yes she made me laugh too Lauren. 🙂

  3. Amber says:

    you are so stinkin’ hilarious 🙂

  4. laurie says:

    ahahaha. you crack me up. and i was kinda starting to wonder if i wanted to eat anything out of your kitchen again. (thanks for the clarification lauren) =) oh and can you call it a battle if you’re the only one fighting?

  5. Ro says:

    Too funny! I love how I feel as if I’m right there with you as you describe your days. 🙂
    I’ve had those kinda battles too, but usually end up just caving. haha
    Thanks for the chuckle
    (oh, and Gladys is just too cute)

  6. a friend of Kelsey's says:

    I have had those one sided wars, but sometimes I think I do have an Opposing side. 🙂 I hadn’t given your sink a second thought. Aren’t inside dogs pretty clean anyway? Some folks are just a little too pretentious about those sorts of things. 😉

Leave a Reply

