The story of Glad.

If you remember correctly, Gladys was one of the first dogs that I met at the shelter. While I walked crazy helicopter dog, Brooke walked this sweet beagle. We marveled at how calm she was and how happy her tail wagged and Brooke (maybe unfortunately) dubbed her Gladys. It stuck.

So, since then I’ve been walking dogs and I would always marveled at how calm Glad was. While all the other dogs barked to high heaven and catapulted through the air, she would just stretch off her little bed and come smiling to the gate. I hadn’t been there long enough to know when, if, how long dogs could stay there and I was quite troubled by the thought of no one adopting her. And if she died and I hadn’t done anything about it…It would be terrible. Because she seemed like such an easy dog.

As you all know, I adore border collies. Tessa is my true love. Wesley wants a border collie. But for some reason, I could never get in the spirit of looking for one. And I think it’s because I see Tessa and Cody running the back 40 at 100 miles per hour every morning and just didn’t think we could give that much happiness to a border collie. So while some day, we will have a border collie, Gladys is a pretty darn good fit into the family.

I have great plans for Gladys. For a few years I’ve noodled on the idea on getting a dog to train it to be a therapy dog. And I’ve just noodled. And then the topic kept coming up last month and I was like, why have I not done this yet? This thought kept intertwining with the ‘what if something happens to Gladys?’ thought.

Then Wesley gave me this newspaper.

In a neighboring county, they need therapy dogs! And that featured dog was rescued from that same county’s animal shelter! I was inspired all over again.

So cute. The article spelled everything out, you need to have the dog for at least 3 months, has to be at least a year old and go though basic obedience. Then it gives contact information for a therapy program.

So we got Glad on Wednesday night and on Thursday, we began practicing. My good friend Jana came over and we whipped up a few goodies, then drove around to visit a few old friends. Glad came along and did quite well submitting to a few, and coming back for head rubs from a few more.

Today, I had some great help walking dogs.My help came back and we enjoyed some coffees and pastries together and tried the whole reading idea.

Worked pretty well. 🙂

I’m quite pleased with her temperament, hope it stays this good. Not quite as pleased with the obedience idea. She’s not a big fan of the whole ‘come’ concept. So this weekend we’ll hopefully find a school to attend.

Until then, I’ll remain quite fond of her afternoon naps.

About A Story of Us

My grandparents 57th wedding anniversary and my first wedding anniversary motivated to journal the adventures life brought our way . I hope to amuse the friends and family I have all over the country and, when I am my grandmothers age, look back at what I have written and chuckle. It's been four years since I began and the snickers I bring myself as I look back propel me to write on. Cheers to the future and happy memories of the past.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to The story of Glad.

  1. dbowiniii says:

    You’re a good egg.

  2. Dana says:

    So cute!!!! Can’t wait to meet your sweet pup!!!

  3. L. Morey says:

    So how does this work? If you train her for therapy do you have to give her up to whoever needs her or do you take her in weekly to do therapy with whomever needs it? I don’t think I could stand to give her up once I became attached to her.

  4. as far as the program I’m considering, you take your dog to nursing homes, hospitals, the above article talks of schools, and just having a dog in the room is a therapy to lots of people (is for me :)). i believe the thought is that being able to converse, cuddle, pet and talk to a dog is very therapeutic. i’ve heard that they’ve started doing it with miniature horses.

    • This is awesome. I can’t wait to hear more about it! As for miniature horses, let me know if you find info, I’ve always wanted to do it with Binga but am not quite sure how..

  5. your mother says:

    I know of a few meetings and situations where I thought a dog would have a calming affect on the participants in the room. Yes yes a therapeutic dog would be a good addition. Better get her trained….

  6. Aunt Stace says:

    Your mother is on to something.

  7. auntie a says:

    I wonder if they have therapy cats? Or does that just make everyone want to boot something?

  8. Cathy says:

    Amanda, leave your cat at home!

  9. A Swifty says:

    I want to sign up for therapy. From a VIRGINIA dog like yours would be great.
    Here’s the scoop. I’m in a state of confusion. No really. This state is confusing me. I keep thinking it’s Spring because of the 70 degree weather, and then the next day all my plants turn to mush and it’s 19 degrees. Just don’t get it.

  10. PEGGY says:

    Loved your story of Gladys. I know she will be wonderful with your help. There is a Rest Home here locally that has several therapy cats that live on site with all the patients. They love them and the cats love all the patients. Some patients that never seem to speak, do talk to the cats. 🙂

  11. Pingback: Belle Goes to School | My Blog

  12. Pingback: Belle Goes to School | Danroberson's Blog

Leave a Reply

