oh wow.

Lots of great things happening this week. And just a nice productive day. Possibly a Linda award thrown in. Possibly not though, since I still have a couple loads of laundry to fold and no immediate dinner plans. Hmm. Feeling the award slipping through my fingers. Better get busy.

But first. We’ll talk about the least exciting thing.

We went to Best Buy. Again. (The first time it was closed). Goal: buy an iphone. And if you’re wondering why I’d go to Best Buy to buy a phone, I was the lucky recipient of some gift cards.

So. We walk in. And I’m immediately overwhelmed with feelings of consumerism and materialism and despising keeping up with the rat race of technology and the coolness of iphones. I have no idea why I’m like this.

But I do know that when you have a jewel such as mine…

You don’t have to worry in the least bit about looking like you’re trying to keep up with the latest and greatest. But if I succumb and get the latest and greatest, in two years when the iphone 6 comes out, people will say, ‘Oh what model do you have?’ ‘The 4s.’ ‘Ohh….’

Why do I spend such time thinking about these things?

Moving on. Those are the things running through my head as I walk around Best Buy. We talk to a sales person, ask him what phone he has. He shamefully responds with, ‘Oh, I just have an old droid.’

See? Thats exactly what I’m talking about. So I whip my phone out, and am like, ‘Buddy, you think you have an old phone?’ And he laughs. But that’s it. You can have pride about an archaic phone. No pride in old smart phones.

Moving on again. I ask if I can see a white iphone. And he gives me a brand spanking new one. And I hold it. And am like wow. That is sure purty. Dang. Beautiful in fact. (Cheaper by the Dozen white typewriter. Listen to the book!) Gosh. Wesley is grinning and nodding.

And we’re like. Ok, sounds great, let’s do it. Only to be told that Verizon is down everywhere. Another sign?

My white iphone is sitting at the store. Wonder if it’ll ever be mine?

But I think it will. And that’s exciting.

And another picture to end on.

Eek!!!!

About A Story of Us

My grandparents 57th wedding anniversary and my first wedding anniversary motivated to journal the adventures life brought our way . I hope to amuse the friends and family I have all over the country and, when I am my grandmothers age, look back at what I have written and chuckle. It's been four years since I began and the snickers I bring myself as I look back propel me to write on. Cheers to the future and happy memories of the past.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to oh wow.

  1. Mel says:

    Um…”eek”???? What am I missing? Are the throws or pillows a little crooked? And pretty sure my phone is more archaic than yours. And pretty sure I don’t care. =) Looking forward to being out that way in a week…Yay! Here’s to hoping our flying experience is better than yours usually are!

    • Mel says:

      Ok. I’ll tell on myself. At first I thought, “Ah, ha. Dog bed!” Then I thought, “Nope, too small. Must be a cat bed. Yes, yes, she must have a cat. And it sleeps in that bed. What in the world??? How many cats actually sleep in their beds? The brilliant Bowin kind, of course. Yes, yes. She must have a Bowin cat.” And we all know that Bowin dogs are brilliant as well. But never as brilliant as Lady. Lady, the dog that fetched the newspaper when you asked, “I wonder what’s going on in the world today?” or some other similar question. *Chuckle, chuckle*

    • Lorianne says:

      We may totally miss you, as we are flying west next week!! I hope not, though!

  2. Rin says:

    Dog bed…:)

  3. Sara says:

    Good luck with the white iPhone, I got one at first and then took it back because it seemed to look dirty all the time, especially around the button at the bottom. I love my black one iPhone, not sure what I would do without it!

  4. your mother says:

    I noticed you are wearing a toboggan with cold hands. Wonder if you should invest in a warmer house before you get a iPhone. Maybe it was on for cuteness factor. And I love what I see in the lower picture! Such fun you will have in a few days. I’ve got my care package filling up with fun things. About Mel…I did not know they were flying out there. Your blog is entertaining AND informative. : )

  5. a friend of Kelsey's says:

    WHAT? YOU NEVER TOLD ME YOU WERE GETTING A DOG!!! THANKS FOR THAT. I’M HAPPY FOR YOU!

  6. auntie a says:

    If you get that iphone get a nice cover…i’ve dropped my evo about a hundred times and my camera won’t work :). Love the house. Love the fact that you’re getting a dog. 🙂

Leave a Reply

