your new years resolution…

I know we haven’t quite reached the first but I’m betting once we get there, your list will include at least one of these.

  1. Exercise more.
  2. Do something kind for others.
  3. And a few more good things.

Am I right? So, just in case you need a little motivation or some ideas…I bring you Gladys. 

As I recently posted, I went to the animal shelter to say hello to the dogs and left sniffling but with the managers number. Astonishingly enough, when I called the guy said they had enough volunteers to walk the dogs. So I called another shelter that happens to be right around the corner from my house. And they said I could come on Friday. So I went with Brookie.

And it was such a great experience. Brooke got Gladys (she named her) on the first walk and she was the sweetest, most well mannered little walker and pranced everywhere with a smile on her face.

 See? Look at that smile. So precious.

I arrived today to take the dogs on walks and immediately they all started barking like crazy and jumping up and down like they’re on Pogo sticks. All except Gladys. She just sat on her little cot with brightened eyes and a smile. So precious. You probably need her.

I decided I should start with the ones that looked like they desperately needed exercise and took my first crazy dog from Friday.

And if you’re thinking that you’d like to do more exercise that just walking, don’t worry, this is a full body exercise.

Case in point. Precious there liked to do the helicopter move and I’m convinced there’s a little pit bull in her because when she yanks, I go. Yes, I was actually sore from it. But the moment I sat down on the bench and asked her if she could sit, she plopped right down and just leaned all her weight on me. It was sweet.

And it’s ok if you don’t really like dogs. Because you’re doing a service to yourself first, then  to them. For instance, I’m a lousy exerciser. Terrible in fact. But I always think it would be something I’d like to do. And I never would have considered taking a 2 mile walk in 37 degree weather and a steady rain. But I knew those dogs needed exercise. So I went.

And it was awesome.

But it’s way more fun to spread the love with someone else. So. For those in my area, shelter hours are Mon, Tues, Fri 10-2. Try it with me once. You’ll most likely be hooked. How can you not when someone looks at you with their heart in their eyes and pure adoration on their face.

Easiest way to feel good about yourself. Totally.

I’ll make you a coffee at my house… 🙂

About A Story of Us

My grandparents 57th wedding anniversary and my first wedding anniversary motivated to journal the adventures life brought our way . I hope to amuse the friends and family I have all over the country and, when I am my grandmothers age, look back at what I have written and chuckle. It's been four years since I began and the snickers I bring myself as I look back propel me to write on. Cheers to the future and happy memories of the past.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to your new years resolution…

  1. Brookie says:

    Ah Gladys. I would have taken her in a heartbeat if I could. So sweet. And good for the soul. Highly recommended and it will melt you 🙂

  2. The Ranch Lady says:

    Pick Me! Pick Me! Surely you will get some volunteers!

  3. auntie a says:

    I would if I lived there! Maybe ill look into me and the kids doing this in our area. I think they would enjoy it. You are such a go getter Kels Marie :). Good for you. Btw, Gladys is a cutie.

  4. Tessa says:

    I like to go for walks too.

  5. Dad says:

    What about Brookie? She has a nice smile too. Anyone offer to take her on walks?

  6. Amber says:

    Well if I didn’t have to work so much I would gladly come along one day 🙂 But sadly I don’t think this will work out anytime soon 😦 Have fun though!!

  7. Wendy says:

    You are awesome. 🙂 that’s all I can say

  8. Melissa says:

    Very heartwarming! Thanks for the fine example! Looks like fun…

  9. a friend of Kelsey's says:

    We’ll come with you some time soon. I think mine would love it!

  10. Pingback: The story of Glad. | A Story of Us

Leave a Reply

