a few things.

First of all, I’d like to proclaim to this world how wonderful the weather has been. This is my fourth east coast winter and these past two months have been beautifully mild. Sure, there’s been a cold day or two or three. But there’s also been some luscious 64 degree days, 59 degree days, and the like. I hardly know that it’s December. And joyfully recognize that those crocuses I planted last month will be up before I even blink. Hurray!

Secondly, Wesley wants a dog. And he spent a minute or two Saturday on the world wide web searching for border collie puppies. And then I unearthed this photo.

Oh those precious babies. Yes that is Cody and Tessa. And they are so so adorable. And check out Wesley flexing for the camera. You go babe.

Sigh. How darling. They grow so fast. And before I begin to regale you with many a puppy tale, I’ll move back to the weather.

I took lunch up to Wes today and afterwards went on a glorious excursion with my mother in law through green meadows, grassy hills, and gravel paths all the while drinking in the splendid, crisp 58 degree day. I still cannot believe I can be outside in such weather and am enjoying it to the last drop.

We went back to her house to enjoy a latte but Wesley popped over to say he was going to the dump and so I hopped along.

Right next to the dump is the animal shelter.

So. I of course said, ‘Oh Wes! Let’s go say hi to the dogs!’

We walked in and a lady asked us if she could help us. I told her we wanted to say hi and she pointed the way.

And I might just have cried (gosh, I promise I do more than cry) as I walked up and down the row. All were so so happy to see you, but some quivered, they just couldn’t believe you were talking to them. Others just barked and barked. Others smooshed their snouts against the fence and tried to kiss you. Little tiny puppies stuck their noses under the divider.

It was the saddest thing. Wesley said it didn’t make him as sad as it normally did but I thought his eyes looked a little bright. Sniff. I just wanted to sit down, get them all out of their tiny little enclosures and let them topple all over me.

And then I was reminded of this hand towel that came in a care package from my dear mother.

And yes, I’m in this picture for a reason. Because I want to bring them all home with me. And give them a nice big backyard they can all romp in. Sigh.

I left with the managers number and will be calling him tomorrow to ask if they need any volunteers for walking the precious pups. And if they do I’ll be calling in the troops! (This might just mean you so prepare yourself).

And before I get all melancholy and sad, I’ll just think to the lovely evening I had with Wes and that its supposed to be 60 degrees on Wednesday and that I might get to go walk those dogs and bring them joy. Which would equal joy for me.

And if you’re in the market for a dog, you should go. Because they were so sweet.

Sigh.

(I really am happy.)

(If you go, you’ll understand.)

About A Story of Us

My grandparents 57th wedding anniversary and my first wedding anniversary motivated to journal the adventures life brought our way . I hope to amuse the friends and family I have all over the country and, when I am my grandmothers age, look back at what I have written and chuckle. It's been four years since I began and the snickers I bring myself as I look back propel me to write on. Cheers to the future and happy memories of the past.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to a few things.

  1. Amber Clem says:

    you are so adorable 🙂 loved this post!!!

  2. sherri cotten says:

    I will not let Conni see this post! 🙂

  3. a friend of Kelsey's says:

    Oh, it totally tugs on your heart string when you visit the homeless doggies. It always makes me feel like a horrible person for leaving them all behind. Have fun walking the dogs! Don’t get too attached to more than one of them.

  4. The beast says:

    Hold it…I missed the picture of “babe” flexing. Please do share.

Leave a Reply

