…opposites attract..?

This weekend I had the privilege of spending much time with ladies as Wesley was otherwise occupied. During this much time, all sorts of conversations arose and I think it was I who brought up opposites attracting. As in, I couldn’t see how opposites attract. And that I felt that Wesley and I were the exact same. To which I was scoffed at (very gently) and told that we were not the same. Wesley, and I quote is, ‘very laid back and…chill.’

That makes me snort all the more for this next story because I responded, ‘What?! I am the definition of chill!’

Conversation continued as some declared opposites and some didn’t. I just said, ‘Shoo, stresses me out to even think about it’.

Tra la la. A few days later. I was thinking about an event that transpired between Wesley and I. That went something like this.

Wesley comes home to find me sitting in our bedroom with tears streaming down my face. He’s on the phone. But he knows why I’m upset. As he is getting off the phone, I’m trying to calm myself down so that I can have a cool, calm, collected conversation with him. Praying for peace, strength, the works.

While I perhaps had the inner peace, I don’t think that Wesley would really tell you that’s what I displayed for a good bit. I listened for a few sentences and then went off with much pounding of the pulpit, reciting of scripture, waving my arms around to emphasize my point and eventually, sobbing. At this point, Wesley realized it wasn’t just outward passion, but inward as well and just held my hand and patted it and said, ‘It’ll be ok.’

After I calmed down a wee bit, we continued visiting which pretty much entailed more calm discussion, no more sobbing, but still quite a few spurts of arm waving, pulpit pounding. And after I got that out of my system, we came to a peaceful ending.

About an hour later, as we were going about our everyday life and, as Wesley puts it, ‘the dust had settled’, he just started laughing out of the blue. So I said, ‘Wesley. What are you laughing about?’ And through much mirth he said, ‘You are sooo passionate.!’ Laugh, laugh, chuckle, chuckle, snort snort. And after I had shot him a pretend glare for laughing at me, I couldn’t help but chuckle myself. Because I imagine I put on quite the show.

And then I had the thought of how thankful I am that he takes me seriously. But not too seriously. And that he somehow knows that the angst/passion is not directed at him. (Poor other people. snort). And thank goodness there’s not two of me in the house. Imagine.

And then that got me thinking about opposites.

Maybe they do attract.

Chuckle.

And perhaps I’m not quite as chill as I’d like to think myself.

heh.

About A Story of Us

My grandparents 57th wedding anniversary and my first wedding anniversary motivated to journal the adventures life brought our way . I hope to amuse the friends and family I have all over the country and, when I am my grandmothers age, look back at what I have written and chuckle. It's been four years since I began and the snickers I bring myself as I look back propel me to write on. Cheers to the future and happy memories of the past.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to …opposites attract..?

  1. auntie a says:

    Yep, Phil and I are quite opposite and it’s probably a good thing 🙂 In fact I was just telling him how frustrating it was to be like me and do all this structured, organized, planner type way of life and he can just “wing” every day and he’s somehow less stressed and happy. Of course, he then says…”well just be like me”. 🙂 If only it was that simple, but then we’d really be in trouble! 🙂 Love you Kels, glad you’re passionate and Wes is chill. Takes all kinds.

  2. your mother says:

    um. no darlin’. you are not “chill”. you have never been, but you prefer to think of yourself that way. so we let you. we just warned wesley there would be days like the above mentioned, he assured us he could handle them and it looks like he does like a champ. i don’t think he would choose to have you any other way…we wouldn’t!

  3. Amy D says:

    Love you Kels ~

  4. An Empathizing Friend says:

    “And thank goodness there’s not two of me in the house. Imagine.”

    I agree wholeheartedly…with regard to this house, of course.

  5. A Swifty says:

    Good stuff Kels. Girls like us are all about blood, sweat, tears, and a TEENY bit of drama. Husbands with the chill factor are just what we need. My my. Sounds like you’re just as blessed with a darling husband as I am.

  6. a friend of Kelsey's says:

    see…? Chill and Not So Chill. I like you Just The Way You Are! Loves.

Leave a Reply

