to be still and know.

That You’re in this place.

Please let me stay and rest, in your holiness.

Word of God, speak.

Colossians 3. It’s what spoke to me.

If you are then risen with Christ, seek those things which are above where Christ is sitting on the right hand of God. Set your mind on things above, not on things of this world. For you died and your life is hidden with Christ in God. When Christ, who is our life, appears, you also will appear with him in Glory.

Therefore, put to death your members which are on the earth: fornication, passion, uncleanness, evil desire and covetousness, which is idolatry. Because of these things, the wrath of God is coming down on the sons of disobedience, in which you yourselves once walked when you lived in them.

But now, you yourselves, are to put off all these things: anger, wrath, malice, blasphemy, filthy language out of your mouth. Do not lie to one another, since you have put off the old man with his deeds and have put on the new man who is renewed in knowledge according to the image of Him who created him. Where there is neither Greek nor Jew, circumcised nor uncircumcised, Barbarian, Scythian, slave nor free, but Christ is all and in all.

Therefore. As the elect of God. Holy and Beloved. Put on tender mercies, kindness, humility, meekness, longsuffering; bearing with one another and forgiving one another. If anyone has a complaint against another, even as Christ forgave you so you also must do. 

But above all these things, put on love. Which is is the bond of perfection. And let the peace of God rule in your hearts to which also you were called in one calling and be thankful. Let the word of Christ dwell in you richly, in all wisdom. Teaching and admonshing one another in psalms, hymns, and spritual songs, singing with grace in your hearts unto the Lord.

And whatever you do, in word or deed, do all in the name of the Lord Jesus, giving thanks to God the Father through him.

I memorized this chapter (and yes, there’s more of it) years ago and as I was looking for a chapter to speak to me last night, I pretty much automatically turned here. And it was like God wrapping his arms around me. And I am so thankful for that.

To be still and know.

About A Story of Us

My grandparents 57th wedding anniversary and my first wedding anniversary motivated to journal the adventures life brought our way . I hope to amuse the friends and family I have all over the country and, when I am my grandmothers age, look back at what I have written and chuckle. It's been four years since I began and the snickers I bring myself as I look back propel me to write on. Cheers to the future and happy memories of the past.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to to be still and know.

  1. Abbs says:

    Good timing! Thankful for his word that comforts us!

  2. Courtney says:

    Thanks, Kels. I needed that reminder today.

  3. Dad says:

    Kindness, humility, meekness. Hmmm. I’m working on those.

  4. G&G says:

    A very refreshing reminder, also we enjoy the picture.

  5. debbie Roy says:

    I woke up this morning with a really heavy heart and then I read: But above all these things, put on LOVE. Which is is the bond of perfection……and be thankful! I’ve never seen love and perfection go together like I did this morning!! I am thankful…..for your post (and lots of other things)!! God is so good!

  6. Anya says:

    so thankful that God’s Word is living and speaks to us today!

  7. Cynthia Corle says:

    Thanks, Kelsey! I appreciate that!

Leave a Reply

