just call me betty. betty crocker.

What is it about baking bread? Just makes me feel all house wifey and amazing and awesome and impressive. heh. And I love feeling like that. And for some reason, baking bread always intimidates me. I can make batch of cookies in my sleep but for some reason, trepidation comes when I think about making bread.

Bread as in loaf bread, like artisan bread, like rosemary bread, like dinner bread. Not, for instance, cornbread which we had every night for dinner in Mississippi. My paradigm informs me that you should have artisan bread for dinner every night. And now you can. With these four simple ingredients.

Three cups of flour, 1/2 teaspoon of yeast, 1 teaspoon salt, mix together and add 1 2/3 cup of 110 degree water. Mix it all together and boom. You’re done. Unless, of course, you’d like to add a teaspoon or two of rosemary, sage, garlic, you name it.

Cover it and forget about it. For 18 to 24 hours. I have never made it to 18 hours because I’ve always made it at 11:00 at night. And I want it for dinner the next day. So as far as I know, 16 hours works great.

This is what it looks like around 16 hours. Nice and bubbly. And pretty much like a lake. Which is slightly terrifying the first time you make it and are like, ‘how will this go into a ball?’

Yep. Pretty weird looking. Now, ‘generously flour a clean surface.’

Thank you photographer Rachelle. I had a swell time pretending I was on a cooking show and do believe I talked the whole time, ‘now go ahead, be generous with your flour!’

See?

Now pour your lake onto the counter.

So. A lake. And imagine my terror when I read the recipe and it says, ‘dust with flour, fold in half, then form into a ball by stretching and tucking the edges of the dough underneath the ball.’

Right. So I don’t know much about bread and I really follow instructions with recipes I’ve never made so I folded it in half and tried to make it be a ball. Yeah. Didn’t happen. And I was terrified I was adding too much flour and working the dough way to much. After all, it’s called No-Knead Artisan Style Bread. So I called my mother-in-law. And said, ‘what in the world’. And she said to flour and work it until you can easily tuck into a ball.

So work it!

And work it some more!

And when it stops being a gooey mess, start tugging it into a ball by pulling the ends underneath. If that makes any sense.

And then plop it onto a piece of parchment paper (I like to put the parchment paper in a pan). (Cause that’s what my mother-in-law does).

Then let it get all cozy by the fire for two hours.

About an hour and a half into this process preheat your oven to 450 degrees and put your dutch oven in with the lid. And then, 1/2 later, carefully take your dutch oven out and transfer your dough.

Into the oven it goes for 30 minutes.

After said 30 minutes, take the lid off and let it cook for around 15 more minutes. And then take out your masterpiece.

Can you say amazing?

Invite your friends over for a party to celebrate.

Yes please.

You can do it. Promise. And you will feel amazing. And if you don’t have a dutch oven, check out your local goodwill (that’s where mine is from) or Sams Club or Costco. Someone should have it.

So easy. So amazing. So empowering. Do it.

Betty C, over and out.

About A Story of Us

My grandparents 57th wedding anniversary and my first wedding anniversary motivated to journal the adventures life brought our way . I hope to amuse the friends and family I have all over the country and, when I am my grandmothers age, look back at what I have written and chuckle. It's been four years since I began and the snickers I bring myself as I look back propel me to write on. Cheers to the future and happy memories of the past.
This entry was posted in food, friends, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to just call me betty. betty crocker.

  1. Jess says:

    Love it: “Now pour your lake onto the counter”!

  2. Rach says:

    And may I say that it was amazing!!!! Thanks for sharing. 🙂

  3. Jennifer says:

    Wow, this looks fun! Thanks for sharing! I think I might try it this weekend! 😉

    p.s. I love your scarf. And your smirk when you’re putting it into the oven.

  4. your mother says:

    such a classy Betty Crocker you are. i guess i will have to try although I can’t picture it being better than the other recipe you got from your MIL. maybe I will make both and we will do a taste test.

  5. Cathy says:

    I thought I was on Pioneer Woman for a minute there! Well, that looks simple enough for me…I am no breadmaker, but just may try it!

  6. Dad says:

    Wow! Looks like something hush harbor would be proud of. How would that be with clams and linguine? Good dipping bread? You are a very cute baker, but shouldn’t you have a little apron on or something like that? I haven’t watched too many cooking shows, but you seem a little classy. Maybe just a smidge of flour on your nose or cheek? Talk it over with your photographer before your next shooting. Also, do you need a new measuring cup? That one looked a little squished. How about those anthropology measuring cups? (purchased, in case you have forgotten, when we went to about 100 stores including the JCrew warehouse sale where I very industriously sorted threw boxes and piles of clothes looking for something for you and your mother (pat pat)). Those would have really added some class. And how about a recipe for the sandwiches? Maybe i am just hungry, but those looked pretty classy themselves.

    • Mel says:

      Er, did someone mention clams and linguine? Maybe your next post could be ‘just call me. mom’ with a how-two on that meal…since I seem to have lost the recipe (on second thought, might want to refrain from that title–you’ll get everyone in a tizzy). The bread looks delish. Now I must find a dutch oven…I could never figure out how to get that nice ultra crispy crust. I am enlightened!

  7. sherri says:

    I love making bread too, Kels. So rewarding. Your loaf looked like something you would see at Panera! Way to go Betty. Keep up the good work.

  8. Courtney says:

    Looks absolutely amazing!! I need to try that!

  9. Jana says:

    Great work! I was going to get the recipe from Ronda but I guess I don’t need to anymore. 🙂 (I’m assuming it’s the same one we had last week) I just need to go buy myself a dutch oven now.:)

  10. Amber Clem says:

    Awesome! I loved the loaf you made for us the other night for dinner. That was delicious!! 🙂 Maybe oneday when I have some spare time I will aspire to be like you in all your Betty Crockerness!! 🙂

  11. A Swifty says:

    ABSOLUTELY one I’m going to try. (I succeeded at tortillas last night, so I’m feeling lucky. =)
    Thanks for the great post. I wonder how many people are going to eat artisan style bread tonight!

  12. L. Morey says:

    1. Hmmm, have the perfect dutch oven. Was my moms and she used it my whole life.
    2. Have parchment paper.
    3. Have the recipe now
    So, perhaps if I can remember to start it tonight, we’ll have it tomorrow night for dinner. Looks delish. I’m with Cathy, You reminded me more of Ree Drummund (sp) than Betty Crocker.

  13. Lorianne says:

    I’ve made this bread a lot….just not recently! It is very good! I’ve added cheese and jalepenos, or olives, sundried tomatoes, and Italian seasonings. Yum!!

Leave a Reply

