.mississippi.

I remember being in first or second grade and one of my friends came up and said, ‘Do you know how to spell Mississippi?’ I didn’t, but she did and rattled off, ‘M I S S I S S I P P I!’ I was quite impressed.

That’s neither here nor there except that I was there. There being Mississippi.

Last Monday we decided to head down to Mississippi with Phillip and Ronda to spend some time with Wesley’s family. Wesley hadn’t been down in quite a few years and I had never been. So off we went.

Lots of first experiences. I don’t believe I’ve met too many pecan trees in my lifetime. I just met some. And you could spend weeks collecting pecans.

Thankfully, our collection of pecan pickers grew towards the weekend because let me tell you, that’s a good workout.

And if you could spend weeks picking pecans, you could spend months shelling them. I used to see my Grampa shelling walnuts (perhaps), and it always looked interesting. So I would try to crack down on a couple and ultimately would fail. I feel like I would now do a better job due to my experience these past few days.

Many a minute was spent outside in the beautiful weather with the crackers, on the back porch chatting it up, and around the dining room table. Many hands do make light work.

Another semi first. I do believe when I was about six years old, Dad would take us down to the pier in Cayucos to fish. I know I went along for the donuts. I don’t know if I ever fished.  But I did cast quite a few lines this weekend. And got to experience what a bite felt like. The fish were playing coy and although I kept singing ‘here fishy fishy’, they weren’t taking the bait.

Wes caught one.

You’re my hero. (Thanks for baiting my hook over and over and over again). 🙂

Another first. Stewed mustard greens. We’ll call those interesting. Kinda like green beans with an interesting texture. Too bad I didn’t get a picture of those for you uneducated mustard folks. But they were fresh from the garden and speaking of fresh from the garden, I came home with loads of jalepenos (and pecans, and tangerines, and oranges, and grapefruits and lemons. Hurray for fresh fruit!). Holler if you want some.

Another semi first. I do believe I attempted to play tennis when I was around ten with my dear cousin Kara and I’m pretty sure I about passed out. Well, Wesley’s grandparents live right down the road from some tennis courts and on one lovely day, a few of us went out to enjoy the day. And I now am pretty fond of tennis. Especially when I can sneak one by Wes. heh. Love making him run. Pretty sure I don’t fuss when he zings one by me. Pretty sure.

Very thankful for the time, for family and for safety traveling. We motored up to Virginia through the night and I pretty much didn’t move from my corner. So I’ll add thankful for nice drivers.

And thankful for my nice little Daffodil house. Who is now calling me to pay it some attention.

Hugs to you all.

Much love.

About A Story of Us

My grandparents 57th wedding anniversary and my first wedding anniversary motivated to journal the adventures life brought our way . I hope to amuse the friends and family I have all over the country and, when I am my grandmothers age, look back at what I have written and chuckle. It's been four years since I began and the snickers I bring myself as I look back propel me to write on. Cheers to the future and happy memories of the past.
This entry was posted in family, Travels, Year 4. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to .mississippi.

  1. me says:

    What?! You went to Mississippi?! Good for you! It looks like you had a great time. So glad!

  2. Anya says:

    i lots and lots and lots of very happy childhood memories at that very place.
    and i adore mustard greens.
    🙂

  3. humbled anya says:

    (and someday i’ll start to proofread… i think every. single. comment. i’ve ever left for you has housed a typo — except for this one. i’ll do better. promise.)

  4. appreciate it 🙂 and saw some lovely pics of you and your babe around the house. you should have been there with us. and can i ask what is it exactly that you adore about mustard greens? 🙂

  5. lmorey says:

    My one and only time there in Mississippi was at your MIL and her twin’s double wedding. It was a fun weekend back in the summer of ’82. In fact, your mom was there with me! We were on a road trip with U. Gordy & A. Betty. Good times. I don’t believe I ever sampled mustard greens there though!

  6. Abbs says:

    I’m hollering so loud!!!! I will buy some of that fresh greatness from you, farmer lady.

  7. Ashley says:

    I’m glad you enjoyed it. Y’all need to come back again! 🙂

  8. Jana says:

    Glad you had a good time. 🙂 And ditto to what abby said because that fruit sounds delicious! And I would shell bags full of pecans, love those things. 🙂

  9. Kristy says:

    I will be on your doorstep with market basket in hand as soon as we get home tomorrow and I can GET a market basket. Fresh things are wonderful, eh?!

  10. Anya says:

    tell me when i can come over… and we can play… and i can sample some of the wares.

    greens are good. they just are.

Leave a Reply

