I shall now unveil the masterpiece.

Remember that one day that I was feeling amazing? Because I was actually creating something with a sewing machine that I just felt was beautiful. And remember last week I was talking about making pillow shams?

Well. I shall now unveil the masterpiece. Starting with the pillows.

These babies are huge. And heavy. 100% down feathers. And completely homemade (although you’d never guess 😉 ) from the sham to the pillow. In fact, you should have seen me and my MIL doing a little dance as we attempted to transfer down from small pillows into our huge pillow. It definitely appeared as though we had slaughtered the fatted chicken.

And then here’s a peak through the door at the whole shebang.

Ahhh. Happy sigh. This was such a fun project and the best project ever to learn on. I knew nothing about sewing or sewing machines before starting this and it totally doesn’t matter if it looks like you were driving drunk behind the machine. It just kind of adds to the piece. And you feel so incredibly successful while doing a far from perfect job. So much fun.

And a huge shout out to my mother-in-law who had the patience to teach me, again and again, how to: thread the machine, thread the bobbin, get thread on the bobbin, create new stitches, and many other things, such as the patient art of taking out countless stitches.  I would not have achieved a finished project without such a teacher.

Our sewing personalities are so incredibly different and I would try to squelch the chortles at her face when I would tell her that I kinda liked my drunk driving stitches. Her sewing is perfection while mine…For instance, she really thought it would be nice if the pillows had square edges and so as I pulled my chair up to the sewing machine, ‘now, you’re going to follow that line right there, right?’ ‘Of course, of course,’ I would always reply and take off like a bandit, confidant that the line I was supposed to be following would be in my line of sight most of the time.

And so it was, some of the time. Which is why this was just such a great project for me. I can’t handle perfection in such crafts and would rather merrily buzz along forgetting a few details. Much less stressful. And I’m happy to say, I think it turned out pretty amazing. And I don’t think anyone has gushed more over the finished project than my mother-in-law.

Thanks for helping to create the masterpiece.

About A Story of Us

My grandparents 57th wedding anniversary and my first wedding anniversary motivated to journal the adventures life brought our way . I hope to amuse the friends and family I have all over the country and, when I am my grandmothers age, look back at what I have written and chuckle. It's been four years since I began and the snickers I bring myself as I look back propel me to write on. Cheers to the future and happy memories of the past.
This entry was posted in Life as it Happens. Bookmark the permalink.

23 Responses to I shall now unveil the masterpiece.

  1. Auntie A says:

    Well, I for one am impressed. Your bedroom looks heavenly…in fact I would like to take a nap in that bed right now. And who cares what your stitches look like if the overall product is, as you say, amazing. Way to go Kelsey! I think my first project was a jumper that I never wore 🙂

  2. Kristy says:

    Kels, amazing AMAZING work!!! So pretty!

  3. Courtney says:

    Love it! Great job, Kels!

  4. Wendy says:

    Georgeous, something really to be proud of. Good Job.

  5. Caitlin says:

    WOW! I love it! Amazing:)

  6. Dad says:

    Awesome. Nice job. You did not even need my input on PI I am sorry to see.

  7. Amber says:

    OOooo lah lah!!! Very nicely done. You can make one for me now 🙂

  8. Mel says:

    Bizarre, bizarre. I just had a feeling it might be that EXACT pattern. I saw the idea on pinterest and have been contemplating doing the SAME one for our bedroom. But not white. Not kid/hubby friendly enough for this household. It is beautiful…amazing accomplishment. And welcome, welcome, welcome to the anti-detail oriented club…

  9. lmorey says:

    I bow at the throne of your most high crafiness! Truly amazing.

  10. lmorey says:

    Uh, that would be “craftiness”.

  11. Nicole says:

    Wow, I am speechless Kelsey!! That is amazing!

  12. Lean says:

    Wow Kels I am impressed beautiful!!

  13. Aunt Terri says:

    Beautiful, Kelsey. I applaud you for not being afraid of the sewing machine. On my first sewing project I was afraid to push the foot pedal for fear of going too fast and running over my fingers. I sewed almost the whole jumper by turning the wheel by hand. Needless to say it took me a very long time to get it done. Even though Momma’s sewing machine didn’t have zig -zag, some of my seams looked like it was zig-zagged.

  14. Cynthia Corle says:

    Kelsey,
    It is beautiful!!! You did a great job. Hey, you are reminding me of Jill!!

  15. Beautiful enough for a magazine cover!Great job!

  16. G&G says:

    We are proud of you! Good job.

  17. Jennifer says:

    Kelsey! This is awesome! Great job. You can’t say you aren’t crafty, that’s for sure! Again, lovely work. 🙂

  18. Cathy says:

    Wow! What more can be said, except that it is beautiful!

  19. Your beaming mother says:

    I am so proud of you for tackling that for your first project! Looking at you tube videos, letting your MIL perfection not intimidate you, getting the down from Goodwill pillows, it turned out so pretty! Can’t wait to see it in real life!

  20. sherri says:

    Love the blog and the bedding. Picturing you zipping merrily along on the sewing machine made me smile. I can so see it! Great job!

  21. Janni says:

    So pretty– looks like Anthropologie! It’s really more fun to know you made it yourself, though, and even better to figure out that you can create pretty much anything you want and it can be beautiful without being perfect.

  22. Aunt Stace says:

    Love it, Kels! And, as the above poster said, it looks just like Anthro. And as far as your sewing style, you would make your Aunt Shirl proud! 🙂 Much less stressful than trying to stay in those dumb lines and still looks great.

  23. thanks friends! i feel so cheered 🙂

Leave a Reply

