getting my craft on.

Yesterday, I spoke these words to my mother-in-law: ‘So, I’m kinda actually getting into the spirit of winter. And getting excited about all these projects that I can do’. Wherein she interrupted me saying, ‘hold on, wait just a minute…’ I was in the midst of cutting some fabric and thought I had made a disastrous mistake but she continued with, ‘let me run go get my tape recorder!’.

To which we laughed and I thought it might be good if I do record those words here. Part of it may be that the temperature has just been balmy. But I hear the low tonight is 28 degrees so we’ll see how I do. So far I’ve been handling 60 degree nights just fine. Actually had Wes crack the window two nights ago around three as it was so warm in our bedroom. And I reveled in the moment.

But I am enjoying feeling crafty and planning all these cool hats to knit, decorations to make and such. And I do believe it’ll make winter that much more enjoyable.  Remind me to read this post in February and maybe inspire me with a few more ideas. Until then, I’ll be so pleased when I finish my dumb pillow shams and a few more projects that I’ve been dutifully putting off until I finish these dumb pillow shams. You seriously should have seen me and my MIL as we struggled to find the correct dimensions to create a square ruched pillow. I won’t even tell you what we did before going back to square one because I’m pretty sure you’d just be mind boggled by us. We were.

But now we feel accomplished.

And had a great time. Perhaps I’ll show you the beautiful finished product sometime.

And now I’m off to do some more crafting.

Hope you’re having just as much fun.

About A Story of Us

My grandparents 57th wedding anniversary and my first wedding anniversary motivated to journal the adventures life brought our way . I hope to amuse the friends and family I have all over the country and, when I am my grandmothers age, look back at what I have written and chuckle. It's been four years since I began and the snickers I bring myself as I look back propel me to write on. Cheers to the future and happy memories of the past.
This entry was posted in Life as it Happens, Year 4. Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to getting my craft on.

  1. lmorey says:

    Hear ye, hear ye…Refer to November 17 blog on February 17! Really though, I too enjoy the cooler days to get projects done. I’ve been in an organization fit lately. Nothing like a 65 to 70 degree day to make me want to dive into cupboards and closets.

  2. your mother says:

    love the picture, wish i could be there and just have my latte in hand and chat with you 2. noticed the shoes/boots, glad they are getting lots of use! : ) you go bargain gal. and lastly did the outdoors really look like that in the back of the picture? It looks like snow in the trees? good you are embracing the arctic.
    Lana, nice comment with those chilly days that are so inspiring!

  3. Dad says:

    Great positive post. Really nice socks or boots or boot socks or whatever they are. Highly, strongly encourage you to keep those dedicated to inside

  4. dbowiniii says:

    Well I was going to add there, ‘to inside crafty projects’, and probably had some other witty comment and my computer crashed. Call it divine intervention. I do have some very practical advise on the square thing. First, you have to remember that a square is a rectangle but a rectangle isn’t necessarily a square. It’s important to have that basic premise down before you start working with any right angled projects. Next, when you do believe it’s a square and not just an ordinary rectangle, the most accurate way to solve the dimension issue is to measure the length of the diagonal. That’s the length between two opposing corners. Once you have that length, the rest is easy. First divide that length by 2, then take the square root of that result. That’s the length of each side. It’s that simple. Remember a sq + b sq = c sq, but since it’s a square, you can just say s (as in side) squared plus s squared = c squared. Or 2s squared = c squared. So divide c squared by 2 and you have s squared = c squared over 2. Take the square root of both sides (remember you have to treat each side fairly), and you get s (or the length of a side) equal to the square root of c (or the length of the diagonal) squared divided by 2.

    • dad! these boots are my life! i adore them!

    • Crafty Mother of THE Loud Children says:

      And we will be waiting anxiously awaiting YOUR masterpiece. Though, I do suppose that the rectangular fireplace was pretty crafty…you know, the 1,000 pounder. My hubby scoffed at the fact that six guys had trouble moving it. His words exactly: “Hah! Six guys?! Hah! ” Guess you should have invited him. Though I have seen him and his brother in action. Quite remarkable. And I shall change my name to protect the innocent.

      • Aunt Stace says:

        Mrs. Crafty, I do believe I know your identity! 🙂 But nice try to remain anonymous…sometimes that is the better part of wisdom!! Like you, I am anxiously waiting to see Kelsey’s masterpiece. Let’s see, what do they call it in blogworld? “The Masterpiece REVEAL”? There Kels, I’ve got your title for you already.

    • hizwif says:

      Ohh! ……… I did not know Eugene Meltsner was your brother! (from adventures in odyssey) Your blog was far easier to read than his ” very practical advise”!
      I might be feeling a twinge of pain for you in the brother department more than the winter dol-drums! ; )

  5. the 4th says:

    I am so confused by those last two comments that I don’t even know what a proper retort — I mean response — would be.

    Kelsey, you however know the facts, and know that you could write an entire post on the square rectangle thing.

    And one other thing. You are probably relieved that I had to stop my response short in order to get a little work done, but I didn’t get to the part about compensating for the fluffiness of the pillow. That’s where pie (or pi) comes into play. If you think of the fullness of a pillow it’s kind of like a plump pie. So before you divide that diagonal by 2 and take the square root of it, first multiply it by pie. It’s pretty simple and works with any size square pillow. If you can’t remember the full pie value, just take the shortcut (it will work fine except on silk fabrics), and multiply the diagonal by 22 and then divide that sum by 7. Good luck. Can’t wait to see the pillows.

    • Aunt Stace says:

      Davey, apparently the above poster, “Hiswif” is unaware that your father is debiii and you are debIV, or the 4th. So, she thinks your dad’s post was you. I have no idea who it is she is referencing, (Eugene from Odyssey) so I’m in the dark on that part.

      • dbowiniii says:

        Stacy, you have been away too long. How can you read that post and think the 4th wrote that? And it would take someone of your keen mind — who asked the teacher for more homework — to read how to make a pillow fluffy by multiplying by pi — and just take it matter of factly.

      • lmorey says:

        All this Pi thingy is confusing my brain also. Math was never my strong point. I was impressed when I thought d4 was chiming in but I should have known it was d3. And yes I believe Ialso know who Crafty mom is .. I think she lives east of PR. Am I right? And Stacy, I’m sorry you’ve never had the opportunity to get to know Eugene from Odyssey, a wonderfully nerdy chappy. Also, Stace, you actually asked for more homework?

    • ah, i believe this is where we went wrong yesterday. we forgot to divide that diagonal by 2. if we had figured that out, I don’t think we would have cut out a 60×60 inch piece of material to make a 26×26 inch pillow. i think we did everything else correctly.

  6. Friend of Kelsey's says:

    Wow, these responses have my brain in a BIG Knot! All these fake identities…Whew. It’s sad we can’t just be ourselves around these parts. 😉

  7. Kristy says:

    oh my word, yall!

  8. Mel says:

    Marvelous, folks. Absolutely marvelous. Love the rapport. Makes me feel at home. Well, not current home, old home. I haven’t laughed that hard in a while. @D4: I was going to say the same thing. I think that makes us officially nerds. @StacyLou: Miss you!

  9. Enoughofpie says:

    Perhaps the poster (or imposter) who spends too much time talking about pie, square, rectangle, silk fabrics etc. should either a) come help me with house work or mow the yard or b) start his own blog and title it “A day in the life of a Fillabuster”.

Leave a Reply

