simply marvelous

Today, I have the joy of spring in my heart.

First of all, I woke to a text announcing the arrival of a little gem. And that’s always a great way to wake up.

And then I stepped outside. And it was so balmy. Seventy degrees in fact. And shame on me if I ever forget to thank God for blessed weather in November. I tried to find the weather archives for November 2008 so you wouldn’t think I am exaggerating when I tell you that the high for the month was about 33 degrees Fahrenheit. And not that that in and of itself is terrible. But when you have that for three and a half solid months, it is. So these beautiful days in November sustain me in those not so beautiful days of January.

After I stepped outside, I knew I had to go buy some bulbs to plant. So I did. (Thank you father phil for the inspiration. I am planning on reaping in joy).

And never mind those prices, (I could tell you were looking at them). They were all on clearance.

I joyfully planted all 190 bulbs with this goofy smile on my face as I dreamed of stepping outside my front door come March/April/May and being greeted by the absolute lusciousness of these flowers. Because I’m convinced that they will somehow transform my little patio to look like my Grama’s back yard come spring time.

Which looks like this.

I do believe I need a fountain. And I do believe I shall stare at this picture all winter long and be a: filled with hope, or b: despair.

Before I think about that too long, I will go back to lovely memories of day and dream about the happiness I felt last spring when I saw my first crocus.

Simply marvelous.

About A Story of Us

My grandparents 57th wedding anniversary and my first wedding anniversary motivated to journal the adventures life brought our way . I hope to amuse the friends and family I have all over the country and, when I am my grandmothers age, look back at what I have written and chuckle. It's been four years since I began and the snickers I bring myself as I look back propel me to write on. Cheers to the future and happy memories of the past.
This entry was posted in Happiness, Life as it Happens, Year 4. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to simply marvelous

  1. cynthia says:

    Will you plant some for me???

  2. dbowiniii says:

    You said Grama’s backyard. Did you mean to say, Dad’s back yard? Pretty sure that’s our yard.

  3. Auntie A says:

    Kels – way to be productive and stay positive! 🙂 Proud of you! and I’m just amazed that you planted that many bulbs, I get tired of it after about 20 🙂

  4. Swiftness says:

    Which little gem arrived, Kels? And BTW, you’re trying so hard to make your yard beautiful and like home… me too. I find it exceedingly frustrating to grow things in California. Best of luck planting in paradise. I’ll keep trying this desert.

  5. swiftness, you crack me up. i can definitely see your point of view, but hey, no weeds! (comparatively) and i’m sure you’ve heard of gemma by now?

  6. Pingback: I love… | A Story of Us

  7. Pingback: happiness-it’s the small things. | A Story of Us

Leave a Reply

