this should be a running commercial.

Seriously. If Run While You Can has’t contacted me within the week, I’ll be shocked.

I occasionally like to pretend I’m a runner. Especially at the beach and especially with my dogs. They’re so joyful and cheerful and exuberant that I just want to frolick down the beach with them. So I did. But running in Virginia is different than in Cayucos. The hills that I ‘run’ here about make me pass out so my actual running distance doesn’t amount to much. So when I went down to run at the beach, it was so flat, that I just kept running, with my bare feet. Which I wasn’t quite prepared for. Which caused something funny to happen in my left arch.

Which means I won’t be featured in the running commercial. But Dad and Wes will. And the dogs.

Gosh that’s gorgeous. Here, the dogs aren’t too exuberant. It was our last day at the beach and they were terrified of being left behind. You would think we just left them all the time…Dad, Mom? Do you? At any rate, they would not go down those stairs until Dad made it to the bottom.

After that, it didn’t take too long for them to become overjoyed.

Doesn’t that make you want to frolick? This is how I know that if I had my very own Virginia dog, I would exercise it. Because how could you not when there’s that much joy involved? Never mind the soon approaching twenty degree days.

That dog can book it. Cody starts out running, but then gets tired and basically steps on your heels the entire run. Tessa runs circles around anything and anybody. I’d love to have a tracker on her. I’ll bet she runs at least three times as far as her human companion. But back to the other runners.

It seriously was that beautiful. The water was all shimmery like diamonds and made my heart ache.

Nice that the men folk could wear coordinating colors for the photo shoot. And is everyone appreciating Tessa’s prancing? Click on the picture to make it bigger.

Away they ran and so I sat on the beach taking, as you already know, some glorious scenery shots.

After some time had elapsed, I began zooming in on the distance looking for two spots of orange. Eventually, they appeared through my lens. Dad had taken the lead and the dogs were hanging back with Wesley. So I did my favorite thing. Hollered in a high pitched singy songy voice, ‘Cooodddyyyy, Teeeeessssaaa!’ Tessa got the message, Cody didn’t.

It’s like the Cavalry is charging.

Looking good Dad. Way to soar through the air Tess.

If I knew how to type out the bugle call, I’d do it.

This is the levitating look.

Nice finish Dad.

Cody did eventually get the message and lumbered on up to say hello.

He is pretty cute, I’ll have to admit.

So, if this had not inspired you to a: go for a run, b: go to the beach, or c: get a dog, I’m not sure what will.

Be inspired.

About A Story of Us

My grandparents 57th wedding anniversary and my first wedding anniversary motivated to journal the adventures life brought our way . I hope to amuse the friends and family I have all over the country and, when I am my grandmothers age, look back at what I have written and chuckle. It's been four years since I began and the snickers I bring myself as I look back propel me to write on. Cheers to the future and happy memories of the past.
This entry was posted in animals, cayucos, family, Happiness, Journeys End. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to this should be a running commercial.

  1. Natalie Birkhahn says:

    I am inpspired! So lovely to see your pups and family having so much fun. Miss you Kelsey 🙂

  2. Kristy says:

    Just think I’ll go for a run today! Thanks for the kick in the pants this morning!

  3. Dad says:

    Great pictures. However way too many bird leg shots
    . I don’t remember signing a release form.

Leave a Reply

