sunday morning coffee

When I was a kid, we had this cd called Sunday Morning Coffee. There was this one song on it, track 14 I believe, that I just absolutely adored. Come to think of it, it didn’t really sound like something you would listen to on a Sunday morning while drinking your coffee but I loved it nevertheless.

But that whole paragraph is really neither here nor there.

Something did happen on a Saturday while drinking coffee.

Meet the band. Sorry I can’t disclose the name of the band. That’ll come later. (My dad is really pushing for ‘cotton pickin’-with friends’). snort.

They recorded their first six songs on Saturday. In a snazzy studio.

I got to stay and listen. And I really enjoyed it. Which somewhat surprised me. The guys usually practice in the winter and after a few weeks/months of listening to them play, us girls are about to croak at the songs. We can ‘sing’ every part of every song. We know every little run that saxophone is going to make. And we (or maybe I should say I) just get tired of the music.

Practice recently got more vigorous and occurred at such a place and time that I haven’t had the opportunity to go listen. So when I heard them all making melody through my little head set on Saturday, I was quite impressed. They’ve improved. And they were having a blast playing which made it all the more fun to listen to.

So, stay tuned (heh heh). One more recording session to go and you can have your own cd in your hot little hands.

And might I suggest, it’s something you could listen to while enjoying your…Sunday morning coffee.

 

 

About A Story of Us

My grandparents 57th wedding anniversary and my first wedding anniversary motivated to journal the adventures life brought our way . I hope to amuse the friends and family I have all over the country and, when I am my grandmothers age, look back at what I have written and chuckle. It's been four years since I began and the snickers I bring myself as I look back propel me to write on. Cheers to the future and happy memories of the past.
This entry was posted in friends, Music. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to sunday morning coffee

  1. Whitney says:

    Well I’m not a big coffee drinker but I am looking forward to getting this CD! πŸ™‚

  2. Brittney says:

    I can’t wait to get the CD. They always sound so good together.

  3. the ranch lady. says:

    I’ll have my people talk to your people and then we can pass out the billboard hits….

  4. Amber Clem says:

    Can’t wait. I loved having them play at my wedding. They are super awesome! πŸ™‚

  5. Aunt Stace says:

    I want my own signed copy since I am Aunt-in-law to one of the key players. Hurry Hurry, can’t wait to hear it!

  6. dbowiniii says:

    Hey. You misrepresent me! I said “Cotten Pickin” or “Cotten Pickin with Friends”. You completely lose the intelligence and irony of the name when you spell it CottOn. Maybe it would be a better album name than band name, but no doubt. It is good.

  7. Auntie A says:

    I’ll wait for it to go half-price on Amazon…:) Kidding kidding….I’m just as excited as Aunt Stacy! Will be fun to listen to and I love to drink my coffee so I bet it will be great to do together πŸ™‚

  8. Chad says:

    I’m looking forward to getting my very own CD in my hot little hands!

  9. Cathy says:

    Sign me up for a CD! It’s great they are recording so all can enjoy! Especially after all that practice.

  10. lmorey says:

    Hmmm, I sure hope these make their way to the left coast. I’d buy it. We had sunday morning coffeee cd also. Don’t recall track 14 though. I’ll have to go find it. (Or perhaps it was a cassette)

Leave a Reply

