around the world. (CA to VA)

Well I just saw one of these monsters trying to turn around on my road today and it brought back a flood of lovely memories. So I thought I’d share.

Here’s the monster.

That, my friends, is a truck. And if you’ve been on my road, you can imagine the difficulty the poor guy had turning around.

It was rather long as well.

It even came with a dog, which was quite lovely.

Hi pooch.

And thus, all my worldly goods arrived from California. I was incredibly tickled. They had arrived much sooner than I expected and I danced around the movers, snapping pictures (with a cheesy camera) and hopping with expectation to rip into all those lovely boxes.

When my piano made it’s way into my house (with much heaving from those poor guys) it was like the heavens opened up and the angels sang.

See all that sunlight just streaming in? It truly happened. Along with an explosion of music.

Along with a few other explosions.

This was truly so much fun. It’s like opening presents for the second time because you totally forgot you had all this stuff. Such a blast.

And when my bookshelf began to come together, the angels sang again.

See, there’s that same light. It was like a beacon in the midst of a rather tumultuous sea. But soon, everything came together and I was immensely pleased with myself, my lovely little house, and my handsome husband.

Aw. We were so cute (and young). Tear tear sniff sniff. Amazing what three years will do. Heh. And as you can see, this was before my worldly goods came along and we were using whatever dishes I had received from the lovely folks in Virginia. I remember getting all amped up at like 2 in the afternoon to figure out how to cook dinner, ‘Mom, how long does it take to cook chicken?’ ‘Well, how big is the chicken?’ ‘Well, about the size of an octave.’ (Yes, I guess I am a piano player). ‘K, so how do you cook chicken?’

Seriously. Cracks me up how I had no idea how to do anything except dudes, mexican rice, and croutons. So when five o clock rolled around, and dinner was looking incredible, I was just so marvelously pleased with myself and so disappointed I had no china to serve it on.

But then the moving van came and all was taken care of.

And I was happy.

Still am.

:).

About A Story of Us

My grandparents 57th wedding anniversary and my first wedding anniversary motivated to journal the adventures life brought our way . I hope to amuse the friends and family I have all over the country and, when I am my grandmothers age, look back at what I have written and chuckle. It's been four years since I began and the snickers I bring myself as I look back propel me to write on. Cheers to the future and happy memories of the past.
This entry was posted in Our Story, year 1. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to around the world. (CA to VA)

  1. rach says:

    I can totally relate Kels. This made me smile.

  2. your mother says:

    a couple of things….I sooo miss the banging away on the piano and you and Dad singing in the great room. There is a void in that room since Sept 13, 2008 for sure. : ( The moving van cracks me up, it looks like it is full of just your stuff! Only the strongest are able to survive a move from CA to VA! : ) and those of us that let you leave…we are right up there beside you….hugs for you both : )

  3. KARA says:

    Loved this. 🙂 Made me miss you. And it made me realize I have now been married for 7 years and how far I have come in my cooking ablilities!! 🙂 I love to cook, in my time off work these last few months I have cook half the Pioneer Womans website and many more random recipes I find online. So much fun! Love you!

  4. Aunt Stace says:

    Yes, yes. Moving vans bring some emotions, that’s for sure. And, I agree. They’re huge and look even more huge when sitting in front of a smallish house. (as in ours on Granite Rd. ) I can only picture him trying to turn his rig around on Daffodil Lane!

  5. Auntie A says:

    I enjoyed the read today 🙂 A merry heart doeth good like a medicine and you have such a merry heart. Love you and miss you!

  6. Im's ma says:

    you, my friend, are adorable.

Leave a Reply

