farewells and salutations.

Goodbye summer clothes.

I will miss your cheerfulness, your color, your fun prints, your weightlessness; the feeling that I can just throw you on, slip into my rainbows, occasionally remember to run a brush through my hair and feel ready to face the world.

I try not to think about how long it will be before I see you again. Because it makes my heart clench up a bit. But I hope that our long parting will bring a joyful reunion. And I’ll confess, I couldn’t bear to put all of you away. So on those lonely days, I’ll pull on a foofy, colorful, cotton skirt and think back on the warm days of summer.

Hello warm winter wools.

I am not going into mourning-even if these colors suggest such. Which is a big reason I get so tired of you. I need a nice red wool one thrown in there to stop traffic. I must say-your warmth and sparkle do appeal to me. But not for as long as I’ll have to keep you around. So I’ll just try to enjoy you for now.

And pray for an early spring.

Join me in your supplication please.

Anyone else going through these bittersweet moments?

 

About A Story of Us

My grandparents 57th wedding anniversary and my first wedding anniversary motivated to journal the adventures life brought our way . I hope to amuse the friends and family I have all over the country and, when I am my grandmothers age, look back at what I have written and chuckle. It's been four years since I began and the snickers I bring myself as I look back propel me to write on. Cheers to the future and happy memories of the past.
This entry was posted in Life as it Happens. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to farewells and salutations.

  1. Your brother says:

    Nope. I pretty much have a constant wardrobe year-round….sounds rough though.

  2. Dad says:

    Speedos. Year in and year out.

  3. your mother says:

    Yes I pulled on boots today…..I’m not ready to wear them yet either….let’s pray for warm weather the first week of November… : )

  4. Abbs says:

    Oh Kels…,
    Right there with you sista!!!!!, right there..

  5. Whitney says:

    Yes, please please let there be an early spring. Oh wait, we live in VA. They don’t even know what that is here. Well I guess we’ll just have to hold each other up through this winter and pray that we make it till spring. 🙂 I will count myself blessed if we make it through without 2 feet of snow sitting around for months on end!

  6. Jana says:

    Oh wow you make me laugh! And no I’m not ready for cold weather either! At least the days are nice this week even though the nights are chilly. 🙂 Your family’s comments are cracking me up too! Your mom shouldn’t even be thinking about boots yet where she lives. 🙂 Maybe you do need to invest in a read wool skirt to make you smile this winter. 🙂

  7. Chad says:

    Looking forward to my winter wardrobe…sparkle and all! I will miss summer though.

  8. Jennifer says:

    This made me laugh, along with your family’s comments! I’ve felt that way today and yesterday with our little rain storm, kind of bummed summer is over. Although, I can’t imagine an east coast winter, so I won’t complain 🙂

  9. Sherri Cotten says:

    Is it really that bad, Kels? For me, time seems to fly no matter the season. I so enjoy having 4 distinct seasons – I always look forward to the next one coming. When it gets cold and dreary here, and there is 2 ft of snow on the ground, I’ll think of you. Maybe we should have an “I miss summer” party sometime in January!
    Love your blog – I can always count on getting a chuckle or two.

  10. Virginia Friend says:

    Bring on the sweaters and boots! Fall and winter are my favorite…I always look forward to the sun soaking into my skin in the summer though. Love Fall in VA!

Leave a Reply

