many things of great interest.

That’s a line from Cheaper by the Dozen. You should listen to the book. It’s great.

So. First of all. I’m amazing.

That sounds rather boastful. So maybe I’ll change it to I feel amazing. Here’s why.

That thing I’m operating is a sewing machine. And that pile of fabric on the table is something that I personally have sewed together. And the product of all those stitches is actually quite impressive (I feel). I have learned how to sew on this here project. I can now make it an average of two hours on that machine before I holler, ‘Ronda!’…help me ronda, help, help me ronda. Sorry. That truly just popped out.

Chuckle. So, as I was saying, I now know what to do if the bobbin needs assistance. Before this project, if the bobbin messed up, I was in an absolute quandary. ‘Help, help me ronda.’ Oh that just makes me laugh.

So yes. I feel quite accomplished. And I also think it’s quite funny that I want to go up to Ronda’s to use her sewing machine because I’m so tickled with this project. Me and these types of domestic activities have pretty much avoided each other. I snorted at the girls who took home economics. And now, five years later, I’m finally figuring how to thread the dumb machine. Shouldn’t have snorted.

Next on the list of things of great interest. I went to a baby shower yesterday for a lovely friend. And was reminded that I am not quite as amazing as I sometimes feel.

How adorable is that. I’ll show you some of my stick figures sometime.

And how cute is this table?

Loved the wreath.

Beautiful shower ladies. Very much enjoyed the picnic feel, great chatting conditions. La, you looked beautiful.

And now, moving right along. And only because you asked.

This is what pink eye purlpe hull peas look like.

 And to avoid getting myself in further trouble, I shall bite my tongue in case any commentary should come across as less than positive. Oh look. There are the lima beans in the left corner. Now you can see what those look like as well. Mmmm.

And because I personally think that’s kind of a sad picture to end on, here’s another.

You’re a funny kid, ‘dude.’

Night friends. Loving my camera and loving life.

 

…help me ronda, help, help me ronda…

..snort.

 

About A Story of Us

My grandparents 57th wedding anniversary and my first wedding anniversary motivated to journal the adventures life brought our way . I hope to amuse the friends and family I have all over the country and, when I am my grandmothers age, look back at what I have written and chuckle. It's been four years since I began and the snickers I bring myself as I look back propel me to write on. Cheers to the future and happy memories of the past.
This entry was posted in friends, Happiness, Life as it Happens. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to many things of great interest.

  1. Thanks for the laugh!Now I have that song in my head…I shall go to bed with a song and smile on my lips!

  2. Abbs says:

    I love that less than flattering picture of my dude. I like the camera though.. hmm birthday just a mere 30 days away…

  3. Dad says:

    Glad you are blogging again. Nice post and sorry for doubting your sewing skills.

  4. Aunt Stace says:

    That was a great post to wake up to this morning! Nice smorgasbord of subjects. Can’t wait to see the sewing project all finished. Love to see other people’s creative ideas. i.e. Baby shower decor. Who comes up with these great ideas? I’m impressed. And, that is the most adorable pic of Mr. Dude. Don’t know what his mother is thinking…:)

  5. auntie a says:

    Morning Kels! I love it when I see your blog on Facebook and I know it’s going to be a nice pick me up to my day. I’m impressed that you’re sewing and I too have those song moments where words just pop into your head and you have to sing them 🙂 Love you lots, keep on a bloggin’ 🙂

  6. Tracy says:

    I am not a huge blog follower, especially since “me” time is very limited around these parts, but I always love your posts and you keep me coming back!:) Way to attack the sewing project, keep it up! It’s so fun when you just sew things that tickle your fancy and that’s all! Have a great day!

  7. Lana M. says:

    !. What exactly are you sewing? I think I have the same sewing genes.
    2. Dude is super cute.
    3. Those beans look nasty. I know you can’t say it so I’ll say it for you. I’ve never been a fan of lima beans either!
    Have a great day!!!
    P.S. 4. had to laugh at the BB flavor thrown in there. “Help me Ronda”

  8. the ranch lady says:

    ahhh. I am so glad you finally got a camera so we can now see life from your “view”. About that “Help me Ronda” part of the story…..I clearly remember way back in the day on our first trip to VA and we “landed” at Phillip and Ronda’s. You and your father broke in to that song, singing at the top of your lungs complete with the jive motions. I wish I could show you and your readers the faces of P and R . I will attempt to type the visual. Strap in. We will start at the top of the face. The forehead has a slight wrinkle spanning its width, the eyebrow is slightly raised, poised as if wanting to arch even further, the eye is almost wide, but is maintaining control and is really trying to grasp what all it is taking in, the nose, nice and straight with nostrils flared breathing in as much oxygen to hopefully clear the brain, the lips? they are pursed in a straight line with just the one side ever so gently curving up as if questioning the sanity of the 2 people they are watching….Yeppers that was it, the reality of it all? I am most thankful they are such a huge part of your life and claim you!
    Love, love the picture of Mr. Dude, he looks like a fun little guy to spend the day with!
    The beans….i was taught if you can’t say something nice then don’t……
    the artwork given to Laura is just adorable!
    glad you are blogging again.

  9. Pingback: I shall now unveil the masterpiece. | A Story of Us

Leave a Reply

