in my hot little hands

Three guesses as to the little treasure I’m holding. But if you don’t get it on the first try, I think I might say you’re not using your cranium to its full potential. Except that might be too harsh. So go ahead and take three guesses.

While you’re pondering, I’m going to share another smile story. Can’t help it. They keep popping up.

Long day today. Wes worked real hard. I was tired for him. Because I have cool friends that send me links to awesome deals, I had a free steak meal at Outback and we decided to go there for dinner to relax and chat.

One problem. I guess inside this little packet I had regarding my free steak, there was supposed to be a card that I was supposed to give the server. No such card ever existed. So the manager nicely apologized and said to email corporate and was very sorry he couldn’t reimburse us. We nodded and said ‘ok, thanks,’ all the while thinking, ‘come on buddy, pull some strings.’

He pulled no strings but our waitress came back, told us she’d heard the news and wanted to get us complimentary beverages to help make up for the loss of our free steak and that she’d do her best to snag us a free bloomin’ onion coupon for our next visit.

We were like, ‘wow, cool, thanks.’

And we said it again coupled with ‘you are awesome,’when she came back and said, ‘Well, because I’m so cool, I managed to snag one of these coupons for your meal tonight and so you’re bloomin’ onion is free.’

And then we said it again when she came out with our entree and an extra side of mashed potatoes just because she had ‘access to the kitchen.’

And then we said it again when she came with our bill, $10.98 for a steak, 2 soft drinks, 1 side salad, extra side of potatoes and a bloomin’ onion and a coupon for a free bloomin’ onion for our next visit.

Danielle from Outback, you are so cool. Thanks for making the evening such a ‘smile’ experience.

And now. Back to what I’m holding in my hot little hands.

Forget the smile. More like a full on grin when I hopped out of the car today and saw my packages laying on my patio. Or were they lying? One of the English rules I just never mastered.

Anyways. I’m reunited with my D90. And it’s quite a pleasurable experience.

And now, I am tired. So I will sign off, wishing you and yours a wonderful rest of the weekend.

And might I add, I have a thankful heart for the safety of today. Picture 13 guys, armed with chainsaws, wood chippers and tractors cutting down a forest. That wood chipper scared me to death. And no injuries that I know of. Very thankful.

Night friends.

I love you all.

 

 

 

About A Story of Us

My grandparents 57th wedding anniversary and my first wedding anniversary motivated to journal the adventures life brought our way . I hope to amuse the friends and family I have all over the country and, when I am my grandmothers age, look back at what I have written and chuckle. It's been four years since I began and the snickers I bring myself as I look back propel me to write on. Cheers to the future and happy memories of the past.
This entry was posted in Happiness, Life as it Happens. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to in my hot little hands

  1. Catie Jo says:

    Sweet! You got your long awaited camera:) And yes, I got it on the first try!!!:) I would surely miss mine to death if something were to happen to it. Don’t know what I’d do with out it.

  2. Virginia Friend says:

    Yippeeeee!!!!

  3. your mother says:

    So darlin’ about all your freebies that you’ve been getting lately. I think I’ve lost my touch or some how transferred my powers all to you. Dad would always say “just use your southern accent, it works like a charm” when ever we needed to get “extra”. The last time I was in “the bargain store”, I really wanted this item but it was damaged…I waited patiently in line, I smiled friendly to cashier, showed her cracked leg of furniture, and she replied “let’s see how about I take one dollar off the price?” YOU’VE GOT TO BE JOKING LADY, YOU JUST TOOK $5 DOLLARS OFF THE PRICE OF MY DAUGHTERS DRESS WHEN SHE SHOWED YOU IT HAD A STRING ON IT???!!! So that said, you were taught by the master but the master has lost her touch, it is a bit unsettling for me I must say.
    Really happy you got a new camera, and really happy you 2 will be coming to see us. Let’s see what United can do for you this trip?

Leave a Reply

