smile

And the world smiles with you. Generally. Sometimes. Usually. In this story, yes!

I am anxiously awaiting the arrival of my camera but thought I’d regale you with my smile story while we are waiting.

So, we were in North Carolina last week. And it was lovely. And Wes and I were at Food Lion buying groceries for my scrumptious tilapia taco meal. And we were trying to figure out how many pounds of tilapia to buy to feed eighteen people. Wes got on the phone with his mom and I got on the phone with my mom.

Correspondence ensued.

We hung up. Wes said, ‘Mom says four pounds, five at the max.’ I said ‘Mom says six pounds, seven to be safe.’ We looked at each other and said, ‘hmmm.’

I hopped over to the fish counter where a nice young man asked me if he could help me. I gave him a grin and asked if he could give me a deal on six pounds of fish. He sorta chuckled and said, ‘Noo, but I can give you the price.’ To which I cheerfully responded, ‘don’t worry about it, just go ahead with six pounds.’

When I discovered that 5.5 pounds equaled eighteen fillets, I told him he’d better give me seven pounds. By this time, I had cleaned out the whole row of ‘fresh’ fish and all he had left was frozen. He asked if frozen was ok and I said yep.

He handed me my pile of fish and mumbled something. I said ‘What?’ And he mumbled it again. So I said, ‘ok, thanks.’ And walked away.

And when I was halfway down an aisle I finally figured out what he had said. ‘I went ahead and just gave you the frozen fish.’ I looked at the sticker and sure enough, seven pounds of fish for the price of 5.5 pounds of fish. So I turned around, went back to this nice young man and said, ‘I just figured out what you said. Thank you.’ And he gave one of those too cool for school head nods.

I gleefully skipped out of the grocery store, piled into the car and told wes, ‘now here is why you should always smile…’

Love it when stuff like that happens.

 

 

About A Story of Us

My grandparents 57th wedding anniversary and my first wedding anniversary motivated to journal the adventures life brought our way . I hope to amuse the friends and family I have all over the country and, when I am my grandmothers age, look back at what I have written and chuckle. It's been four years since I began and the snickers I bring myself as I look back propel me to write on. Cheers to the future and happy memories of the past.
This entry was posted in food, Life as it Happens, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to smile

  1. David says:

    Great story. Keep Smiling.

    Rule of thumb on fish. 1/3rd lb per. Or total number of eaters divided by 3 Add 10 more lbs if eaters are from southern states.

    • Daughter of a Southern Lady says:

      Amen, amen, amen…oooohhh, amen, amen, amen.

      But if it’s beef, triple the meat portions and divide greens by ten.

  2. Cheree says:

    Got to love using that smile…so uh how much fish did you actually use?

  3. I don’t know how much was left over.One small tuperware I think 🙂 That was the BEST meal we had all week.Thank you very much for making it Kels and Emilie!

  4. auntie a says:

    My favorite part was the differing opinions of the moms and the hmmm. I can picture it totally 🙂 And it pays to smile, obviously!!

Leave a Reply

