Outer Banks.

There’s this great line in the movie Ice Age that goes something like this, ‘I don’t know about you guys but we sure are the strangest herd I’ve ever seen.’

We’re having a family reunion. And that quote kind of came to mind when I saw the youngest of the group wearing this great shirt.

Oh this makes me laugh. And she’s probably the only who could get away with it. But really, I am very much enjoying getting to know some of Wesley’s relatives that I had not connected with. We’ve stayed up late playing card games, swam in the warm Atlantic, taken many a moonlight beach stroll, played hundreds of games of pool, and made many a meal together. And you want to talk about some culture clashes? I find myself with people who think that pink eye purple hull peas are manna from heaven and that corn bread should go with every single meal. And when I finally got to take control of the kitchen and served up an amazing meal (with the assistance of my dear sister in law) of tilapia tacos served with scrumptious rice and beans, all sorts of salsas and tortillas from Trader Jo’s, I was informed that newspapers would work just as well as tortillas and where was the cornbread?

Oh my, all in good fun, and I’ll continue to dubiously eye those pink eye purple hull peas that look like kidneys and those lima beans that looks like lungs, and they can eye my tortillas with equal suspicion. Chuckle.

Here’s where we’re staying.

Quite the place, eh? This place boasts of 8 bedrooms, 7.5 baths, kitchen, dining room, living room, game room, pool and hot tub. Pretty shwanky.

Here’s our view of the beach.It truly has been gorgeous. Wes and I were sitting on the beach on Tuesday and I just got this tickled feeling, knowing that I had five more days to bask in the wonderfulness of the beach. The water is about 80 degrees and every time I get in it I brace myself for the frigid waters of the Pacific and am surprised every time by the pleasantness of it. However, in the Pacific, I am covered from head to foot, booties, wetsuit, gloves, hat. No species could possibly touch me unless somehow brushing against my face.

I am bare footed and bare headed in the Atlantic. As Wes and I jumped and swam through the waves the other day, a great commotion occurred right about on my head. I dove the other way and as I came to a resting place watched as schools of tiny fish leapt through the water attempting to get away from a mighty predator. As we watched, Wes suddenly jumped and yelped, ‘Ow!’ which sent me hopping and yelping as well. Just a crab, but I now leap through the water like a ballerina, never resting long in one spot, fearing those mighty crabs, (they’re everywhere on the beach).

This week has also marked our three year anniversary. I have a hard time remembering what it was like not being married to my best friend. Being able to face life together, and enjoy the journey is such an incredible blessing.

And I’m very thankful to all his family who helped make him who he is. Because he really is quite the guy. Still not sure how I got so lucky.

One last great picture (all photo credits go to Aubrey, I still don’t have my camera).

Awesome storm. We all watched this baby roll in and it came quick. At the last second, it seemed to move around us so Wes and I hopped on the bikes and pedaled down to Dairy Queen to enjoy a blizzard. And then the heavens opened up.

We had quite the long date at Dairy Queen.

About A Story of Us

My grandparents 57th wedding anniversary and my first wedding anniversary motivated to journal the adventures life brought our way . I hope to amuse the friends and family I have all over the country and, when I am my grandmothers age, look back at what I have written and chuckle. It's been four years since I began and the snickers I bring myself as I look back propel me to write on. Cheers to the future and happy memories of the past.
This entry was posted in family, food, Travels. Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to Outer Banks.

  1. Catie Jo says:

    Sounds like fun:) Makes me miss the beach.:(

  2. Chad says:

    I’m glad you guys are having such a great time!

    • I’m impressed that you’re happy for us 🙂 mighty big of you. and i have thought of you all several times this week and felt bad for you. our house is available in two weeks if you’re interested.

      • Chad says:

        I was excited for you all, I know how enjoyable the beach is especially with lots of family around. I’m also glad you fell in love with the Atlantic. I am also VERY thankful we were able to work something out at the beach for this week!

  3. Dad says:

    You should blog more. That was a great post. Buy a camera.

  4. Kristy says:

    Jealous, jealous….JEALOUS! Our beach week got canceled, thanks to dear Irene. I’m so glad you’re having a blast! I keep thinking of y’all and all the funny stuff I’m sure is happening there. See you soon!

  5. amber says:

    great post. 🙂 glad you guys are enjoying yourselves!

  6. the 4th says:

    i’m trying to picture you “bear headed and bear footed”

  7. Melissa says:

    I am also jealous, haven’t had a real vacation yet this summer. Glad you are having a great time!
    Enjoy the last bit of summer, I say.

  8. Amy D says:

    Kels , this post is hilarious.I would say the clan there is bringing out the best in you : ) MIss you all~

  9. Cathy says:

    Sounds like west coast meeting southern/east! How many laughs you all must be sharing! Pretty pictures!

  10. PEGGY says:

    Always so fun to read your posts. I guess I had forgot to mention that when I married and moved to MD from CA…..I too married a Wesley. We spent many many good times in OC of course, but our fondest memories are of the many trips we made when our girls were young, to the outbanks of NC….Duck. Love it. Have fun and enjoy. I certainly enjoy reading your post and just being so familiar with the area, sites and smells ( I imagine those) of your new life in the east….:)

  11. your mother says:

    HA! This made me laugh….thanks for keeping us in “the know”. Wish I was there….just maybe 2 houses down and somehow I think I would still have to eat cornbread and those purple plump pebbles. Maybe 3 houses down would be good. Hugs to you both, and no we can hardly remember life with out Wesley in it. It’s a better life now. Happy Anniversary.

  12. Virginia Friend says:

    Happy Anniversary Wes and Kels. We miss you both very much.

  13. auntie a says:

    Great post, loved the part about you ballerina leaping through the water 🙂 I don’t like those things either..Looks like a lovely time and keep working on them on the food part. Oh, and you got a great guy like Wes because you are such a sweetheart yourself. Love and miss you both!

  14. rach says:

    Happy Anniversary. Glad you’re having fun. We miss you here…

  15. Rhonda says:

    OH, HOW I MISS THE BEACH!!! Your pictures are beautiful.So glad your trip worked out. I can guess who commented on the tortillas! Mr. Hoon or Huly himself! I enjoy your blog!
    We are still hoping something will work out for our trip after all. Nothing like last minute preparations to keep us flexible!
    Happy anniversary to you both!

  16. Pingback: one two three four five. | A Story of Us

  17. Pingback: duck duck goose. | A Story of Us

Leave a Reply

