Celebrations

Hi.

I feel as though I stepped into a whirlwind last Thursday and have just been plopped down into my house to pick up the pieces. The laundry’s spinning away, kitchen looks decent enough, my dresser drawers are beautifully arranged and pretty empty due to a late night attack of organization and I need to go clean out my refrigerator.

It’s lovely to be home. And I guess I’ll chat a bit before tackling the fridge.

I’ve never really had a birthday week before.

I just had one. It was a blast. Dad, you can come back every year around this time. He kept saying, ‘Well, I guess you don’t turn — everyday,’ to which I merrily agreed. I have all sorts of cool things around my house since Dad came-lovely little housewares from Antropologie, an item or two from the J Crew Sale and a lovely chimenea that makes me so happy.

We actually had a cool enough evening when Dad was here to use the charming thing. Mom and Dad have a beautiful courtyard with a large outdoor fireplace and they are always out there in the evening, be it their family of three or while entertaining a crowd. And I can’t wait to enjoy more evening outs on the patio with my little chimenea cranking away. I also thought that dad was just making that word up-chimenea-but it proudly stated that it was such on the box it came in and I really enjoy saying chimenea. Chimenea. Chimenea. heh.

It is so much fun having no where to be and all day to get there. Dad and I would try to leave the house at a decent time and run to bodo’s for breakfast.

This is photo is not posed. I was fooling around with his iphone and he took a bite and I snapped. Pretty brilliat shot.

Then we’d shop. Then we’d eat lunch at amazing places. Then we’d hang out and visit on the downtown mall. Then we’d go to the grocery store. Then we would make amazing dinners at home.

Seriously. You want to know what we ate? Well first dinner was tilapia over pasta over a bed of arugula with feta, basil, pine nuts, garlic, lemon and a few other things. Friday we just had mexican nachos. Saturday-amazing. Grilled salmon with piping hot mashed potatoes, mango salsa, bread, and this amazing salad that I pretty much created.

 Nevermind the fact that this photo was taken at night, with an iphone and a shaky hand. This beaut contains spring greens, chevre (I love saying that word too), purple onions, pine nuts, peaches, and a lovely vinaigrette. Amazing. I believe this was the night that I put the pine nuts on the stove and informed the household to not let me burn them.

That resulted in this.

In case you’re wondering what’s going on, Wes and I are sorting through the crispy nuts trying to find some that don’t look like charcoal.

We were so thrilled with our mango salsa, that we decided to incorporate that into Sundays meal and grilled some chicken, made some rice, dived into the above salad once again. Monday ended things superbly with melt in your mouth fajitas which are made some delicious by drizzling garlic butter over the meat in your burrito. Stupendous.

That night, Wes told me I needed to pack as well because after we dropped Dad off a the airport, he was taking me to Old Town Alexandria. It was the best and most thoughtful idea. Instead of having to go home to an empty and quiet house after Dad left, I was able to look forward to relaxing and hanging out with Wes.

And we had a blast. The snazzy hotel we stayed at offered bicycles to guests and we toodled all around the town. I felt just like the ladies in Italy as I hopped up to my trusty stead in high heels and a nice little dress and pedaled down to dinner. So much fun.

Great birthday week. Such a wonderful time together.

Happy.

About A Story of Us

My grandparents 57th wedding anniversary and my first wedding anniversary motivated to journal the adventures life brought our way . I hope to amuse the friends and family I have all over the country and, when I am my grandmothers age, look back at what I have written and chuckle. It's been four years since I began and the snickers I bring myself as I look back propel me to write on. Cheers to the future and happy memories of the past.
This entry was posted in family, Happiness, Life as it Happens. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Celebrations

  1. Catie Jo says:

    Sounds like such a fun week. Happy Birthday, Kels!

  2. Kristy says:

    aww, Kels. That.Is.Wonderful.

  3. Lana M. says:

    Every girl should have a birthday week. Linda H. was the one who gave me the idea to implement it in my life and I’ve never been sorry. I’m sure occasionally Art has been but he’s a good sport. Happy birthday Kelsey. Sounds like a fun week with your pops.

  4. Ambe says:

    i love love love reading your post 🙂 i think you should be a journalist!!! you are quite the talented writer….oh and photographer. you have mad skills with that iphone 🙂
    glad you house is in order. mine still looks like a bomb went off…lol

Leave a Reply

