earthquake earthquake, read all about it!

UPDATE: You all have to go here and watch this. Over and over again. Thank you mel for sending me this piece of golden entertainment. I laugh. Heartily.

Yes, I realize this is old news. But I knew you’d all just be dying to hear my perspective of the day. So allow me to launch.

This morning, I hopped over to facebook to catch the latest happenings in the lives of my many friends. I noticed one post that said, and I quote, ‘i was hoping moving here i wouldn’t have to deal with earthquakes. I was wrong :/ lol Dang it!’ This person, I noted, lived in Colorado. ‘Interesting,’ I thought and then got on to my busy and productive day.

I went to lunch with a good friend and got back at approximately 1:43, answered a few phone calls and had a few moments of good, solid productiveness. And yes, my boss does occasionally read my blog.

Anyways. At 1:51, things started moving around. And I wondered what kind of remodeling was going on next door. Then it dawned on me that this was probably an earthquake. But then I thought, surely not, these don’t happen like this in Virginia. These happen in California where I am a seasoned earthquake veteran having survived the 1989 6.9 Loma Prieta earthquake (my dog wouldn’t leave my crib, how cute is that) and the 2003 San Simeon Earthquake (the whole family abandoned me in the house as I rocked out).

So I sat in my chair and contemplated life. I knew what was happening but I could hardly grasp it. I also had no idea what to do. I remembered my dad telling stories of earthquakes while at the office and people would stand in the glass doorways for support and he’d be like, ‘uh, wrong kind of support there.’ Since the door to my office is made up of ten (?) feet of glass, I just kind of froze in my chair and prayed that the glass would stay intact and that the building would not collapse on me.

Prayers were answered.

After the trembling ceased, I ran outside where a few co workers and some customers had gathered. One sweet, elderly lady was also a seasoned California earthquake veteran and she sweetly and soothingly talked to us. What a dear. I was shook up (heh heh) because I still just couldn’t believe a 5.9 had rolled through Virginia.

The most interesting thing to me was how facebook just exploded. Most people didn’t have service on their phones so we turned to the internet to broadcast our whereabouts and experiences. It’s intriguing to go through something like that with so many people and immediately hear whats happening where. My favorite was the call to ‘get under the desks!!!’ It was posted almost simultaneously with the actual earthquake. Pretty impressive.

So far, I haven’t had any personal losses, although I haven’t checked to see if the pool still has water in it. I’ll do that tomorrow morning. I have heard reports of others whose homes are in shambles and I want to remember them in my prayers.

Very thankful for the safety that all experienced and that I came home to an intact home.

Any stories you’d like to share?

About A Story of Us

My grandparents 57th wedding anniversary and my first wedding anniversary motivated to journal the adventures life brought our way . I hope to amuse the friends and family I have all over the country and, when I am my grandmothers age, look back at what I have written and chuckle. It's been four years since I began and the snickers I bring myself as I look back propel me to write on. Cheers to the future and happy memories of the past.
This entry was posted in Life as it Happens. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to earthquake earthquake, read all about it!

  1. Chad says:

    Knowing the person who posted “get under the desks!!!” personally, I would venture to say the post was probably made in jest and was probably prompted by the panicked nature of the office workers outside their office. I would also go as far as saying some of this person’s fellow co-workers probably stood in the doorways of their glass offices! Just saying.

  2. Whitney says:

    I also thought there was no way there could be an earthquake in Virginia. So then I started wondering if an airplane was about to crash into my house or something. I’m very glad everyone’s okay!

  3. I would like to share that when a mother lives on the west coast and has a daughter that lives on the east coast (just hypothetically) and a mother reads on facebook and on the news about earthquakes in the area that her daughter lives, it would be nice if the mother heard from the daughter that she was ok, her husband was ok, her house was ok, her in laws were ok, is the paint booth ok? did her boss have to scream at her to come out of the building while she sat contemplating life like she did 8 years ago? those are just a few things a mother would wonder about….

Leave a Reply

