when skies are grey

You know those text messages you have that you just can’t delete? And so your phones inbox frequently is 100% full and you miss texts because you forgot to go through and delete the ones that don’t matter?

Actually your probably don’t know. Because you probably have an Apple or a Droid and maybe just vaguely remember having this problem back in the stone age.

Well, my phone and I are still ensconced in the stone age. And I have a couple of text messages that I can’t bear to delete because they make me chortle, smile or shake my head every time I read them. So I thought I’d share a few with you and see if they produce a similar reaction. I’ll spare you the ones from my beloved.

From: Dad
Stop!!! Meeting!! Don’t skype
Jan 14, 8:10 am

This is most likely in response to me pelting Dad with phone calls, texts, emails and skype calls. All the while he’s in an important Oracle meeting. And I just love the thought of his computer making that annoying skype ringing tone in the midst of his meeting.

Getting a hold of Dad is at times incredibly challenging. I’ll call his cell phone. Then his work phone. Then the home phone. Then mom’s phone. Then Davey’s phone. Then my phone will ring and Dad will say, ‘Hi, we missed the first phone call then we just thought we’d listen to you call all the phones.’ And I say, ‘gee. thanks’. So any chance I get to pester Dad with various phone calls, I take. He’s recently taking to answering the phone sing, ‘and he has time for me.’

From: Dad
Did wes steal my fav basketball shorts?! $”&!!!$$&
Feb 19, 7:19 pm

This just makes me chortle. And as you can see, my dad peppers his texts with exclamation marks and they always look angry to me. I cannot tell you how many text conversations we’ve had about me telling him he’s angry because of his exclamation marks. To which he responds, ‘What!?! Exclamation marks are for excitement!!! And I still tell him they’re angry. He never talks in my perception of exclamation marks so I don’t like them in his texts. He still hasn’t got the message yet.

From: Davey
The plane we are on saw action in world war 2 i daresay. if we die, you will be wealthy and lonely.
June 4 2:25 pm

Yeah. Wow. Just what you want to hear as your entire family flies east to come visit you. But it’s so Davey. So incredibly matter of fact and dry. It makes me snort and shake my head.

From: Jerm
You make me laugh…=)
Jul 23, 10:21 am

In response to who knows what. But it makes me smile.

From: Dad
You made mom sniffle. That means it was a good post. Now she wants a plane ticket
Nov 23, 7:56 am

Another smile.

From: Dad
I am impressed you live on the east coast. Wow. I need a scarf and a Russian hat.
Dec 14, 11:09 am

How about a ‘Finally!!!’ Every time my parents come here in the winter, it just turns balmy. And it’s so annoying. Because they just tell me I’m a fusser for fussing about the cold weather. Well, they ventured up to New York last December and it was arctic weather. And I pumped my fist and said ‘Yes!!’

From: Dad
I will miss you. Had a great week. Glad you married a nice guy.
Feb 27, 8:36 pm

Aw. Smile.

From: Davey
I expected nothing less. good work
May 20, 12:44 pm

In response to me freaking out about taking my insurance test. And when I texted Davey and told him I passed, I received the above message. And it made me smile knowing that my dear brother had complete faith in me. Thanks Dave.

These make me happy when skies are grey. You’ll never know dear, how much I love these, please don’t take, my text messages away.

(That was this in case you didn’t catch it).

About A Story of Us

My grandparents 57th wedding anniversary and my first wedding anniversary motivated to journal the adventures life brought our way . I hope to amuse the friends and family I have all over the country and, when I am my grandmothers age, look back at what I have written and chuckle. It's been four years since I began and the snickers I bring myself as I look back propel me to write on. Cheers to the future and happy memories of the past.
This entry was posted in family. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to when skies are grey

  1. Amber says:

    Your post made me smile today 🙂

  2. Aunt Stace says:

    Great post Kels. I am one of those who has an archaic phone. Maybe it’s just as well because I know I, too, have old messages on there that may be worth a smile someday. In fact, I probably have one on there I’ve ignored of late, from your dad telling me he’s putting a sweatshirt on because it’s so cool there in Atascadero. My tactic: Roll eyes. Ignore. Finally respond. 🙂

  3. Virginia Friend says:

    Happy Post! You are loved!

  4. Chad says:

    I agree with your Dad! Exclamation points convey excitement!! The &*%^@#!*&#%! conveys anger. As long as his texts are not peppered with *&%*!@$%*&@!%$# you’re good!

  5. Chad says:

    Oh, and thanks for the walk down memory lane. Mom use to sing that song to us when we were kids.

  6. amanda easley says:

    Love you Kels

Leave a Reply

