glee

Before I launch into my story, allow me to show you what glee looks like.

First imagine a pick up game of football in the backyard where first touch down wins. Picture five failed attempts to make this touch down. Then, on the first down on the opposing team, picture an interception.

Then picture dodging and dashing through every player with much mirth straight down to the last yard.

Touch down! And now you know what glee looks like. Seriously, this was so funny. Wesley laughed the entire way down the field which, of course, caused all bystanders and most players to rock away with merriment themselves. Maybe that’s the trick. Make ’em laugh.

Alright. I’ll try to stop staring and chortling at my deliriously happy husband and tell you of my gleeful moment.

First off, golf lessons are coming along splendidly.

Grin.

Last night was all about irons. Allow me to dutifully recite all we learned: ball position, posture, balance, hands, and swing. I am finally able to cock the club way back and accurately (sometimes) hit the ball. In the past, I’ve just turned around and watched Wes haul off and whack one into next week and I get so jealous and say, ‘I’m going to do that!’. Then I haul off, whack it and get terrible results. So annoying.

But now with all my knowledge, I at least look like I am about to haul off and whack one, even if it doesn’t go into next week. Such an improvement.

Snort.

So, after an hour and a half of tweaking our swings, the instructor talked a bit about the actual game of golf and how things are silent on the course, with all players watching you as you hit, with the group playing behind you and the group playing in front of you and how all of that is nervy and generally makes you perform poorly.

She then had us all group to one side and each of us took our turn swinging at one ball while the rest of us coolly observed them.

I don’t know if this was nerve racking to some or not. But we all know that I adore an audience. Chuckle. So, when it was my turn, I strode up to the mat, got into postion, tried to look like I knew what I was doing and took an absolutely terrible practice swing. If I’d been playing on grass there’d been a serious hole.

I bit off some smart remark because this is, after all, a very distinguished sport and confidently lined up for the real deal. I hauled off and whacked it. And man, was it pretty. Soared straight and true and high and far and pure and lovely through the air. I really sort of tried to just kind of nod my head in self congratulations but couldn’t stop the ear to ear grin that spread across my face and the ‘heh heh’ that slipped from my mouth. Especially when I saw the instructor’s and Wesley’s face. My exuberance slid up a few more notches.

And for the rest of the evening, I would burst into delighted chuckles thinking back with great fondness on that last swing.

True glee right there my friends.

 

 

About A Story of Us

My grandparents 57th wedding anniversary and my first wedding anniversary motivated to journal the adventures life brought our way . I hope to amuse the friends and family I have all over the country and, when I am my grandmothers age, look back at what I have written and chuckle. It's been four years since I began and the snickers I bring myself as I look back propel me to write on. Cheers to the future and happy memories of the past.
This entry was posted in Happiness, Year 3. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to glee

  1. Gram says:

    I am so glad you are learning to play golf, so impressed with your progress….I have always wanted to learn…I think I would be just great at it…heh heh…..love the look on Wes’s face as he plays football…he is just adorable (as Parker would say).

  2. Dad says:

    Could you add a few more adjectives to describe your ball in flight? Wasnt quite able to get a good visual of the purity of that shot.

  3. Lindsey says:

    I can see that ear to ear grin right now. Love it!

  4. amanda easley says:

    #1 I think Dad is jealous #2 you rock #3 Wes’s grin is very gleeful and I can relate as I once caught a football in the endzone and did a happy dance. It is thrilling….

Leave a Reply

