Monday: A List

1. This is my happy spot.

Whenever life seems overwhelming, I sit amongst these flowers and their beauty ministers to my soul. Perhaps a little Mathew 6:28 taking place.

2. My dad’s coming to visit me. When I found out I leaped and hollered and jumped up and down.

3. My mom hosted a party for a bunch of kids last weekend.

How cool is she? There was a miniature horse, 2 story bounce house, face paintings, cup cake walks, races, creating your own modern art and I’m sure much more.

When I grow up I want to be just like her.

4. Can’t help but show you the horse.

How adorable is that? I do hear that it bucked the children off. I know it’s bad to laugh at such but I confess I inwardly snort when that mental image comes to mind.

5. I’ve been living life in my pool. It’s luscious. I might be addicted to swimming laps. Not sure how that’s going to work out in the winter. But we won’t think about that now.

6. United’s a beast. I’ve filed my claim with Allstate for my camera. We’re still in very slow communication with United but I miss my camera. And hopefully this will be the quickest way to get a new one.

7. What do you recommend. Droid or Apple?

Enough for now. Time to go swim.

Have a lovely Monday.

 

About A Story of Us

My grandparents 57th wedding anniversary and my first wedding anniversary motivated to journal the adventures life brought our way . I hope to amuse the friends and family I have all over the country and, when I am my grandmothers age, look back at what I have written and chuckle. It's been four years since I began and the snickers I bring myself as I look back propel me to write on. Cheers to the future and happy memories of the past.
This entry was posted in Happiness, Life as it Happens, Year 3. Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Monday: A List

  1. Kristy says:

    Apple, m’dear, hands down. (like I know much…)

  2. Rach says:

    So exciting that your dad is coming!!! Happy for you.
    Get a pool membership in the winter!
    And I’d also say Apple, although I’ve never owned a droid, so just an opinion thing. *face time, iPod, etc..*

  3. Chad says:

    You really should not laugh at the poor children thrown by a little Shetland. Oh hang it! Who am I kidding…snort all you want…I did!

  4. your mother says:

    about the horse….I so wish I could post a video…Danny pulls up with truck and trailer, we can’t see inside but by the sounds coming from trailer I am thinking “sounds like a wild horse in there”. I ask Danny, he says “oh she really nice, so sweet, real calm, her name Carmelita”. I murmur “hmm maybe Carmelita will calm down when..” Out comes this adorable miniature horse that truly as soon as we put these sweet children on her back she would take 2 steps….one, two kick up heels, child flies through the air, caught by mother. Next child…one, two kick. Sweet, calm Carmelita would only let children sit on her back and then pose for pictures. I laugh every time I think about it…(me, you, Chad, D3 and D4 must have twisted sense of humors)
    BTW, your flowers look beautiful, Get an Apple. (that way you can be just like me AND dad) : )
    next time I fly united I will stick my tongue out at the baggage handlers, what thieves.

    • amanda easley says:

      I knew we should’ve come out 🙂 Lauren that sounded like a great party! Parker and Paxton would’ve loved it.

    • Chad says:

      More snorts coming from the east coast this morning! Thanks for the laughs this morning! Poor traumatized kids, see if they ever get on a “REAL” horse after their experience!

  5. Virginia Friend says:

    Hm…Apple…even though I kind of HATE itunes.

  6. Dad says:

    Looking forward to the visit. Maybe we can work a little golf in. (Like there’s an option not to…) I will do one of my “who’d thunk it “, recipes. How about the grilled tilapia over orzo and arugula? Let’s go over to that little sandwich joint in Orange and I will have a meatloaf sandwich in honor of Davey. Gosh, if we start eating for Davey we will need to take in spudnuts and a few bodo trips.

    On the apple droid issue.. Don’t talk to Nick. He will tell you all these great things about how you can program the droid to do this or that, and he likely has done nothing more than open up a web browser once or twice. I do hear complaints about the iPhone 4. Not sure they ever really figured out the reception / antenna issue. I’m holding onto the 3 until the 5 comes out. They make a big deal about the 8mpp vs. 5mpp on the droid vs. iPhone, but are you really going to take serious shots that you are blowing up to 24 x 36 with your phone? OK. I have taken a few like that, and that’s with my 2mpp iPhone 3. No, if you’re going to take serious shots, use your big, clunky camera, with the 2 foot lens, just so people think you are a professional.

    And speaking of cameras, send me the contact info for United and I will fire them off a few emails. In fact, add that to your blog. Put the address out there and ask people to write on your behalf. Something like, “Dear United Airlines. Due to the injustice done to Kelsey and her camera, it is highly unlikely that we will ever be able to fly United Airlines again. (Unless of course, your fare happens to be the cheapest which is what typically determines the airline we choose). Regardless, we are extremely disappointed in your response, or lack thereof, to the theft of Kelsey’s camera. In a way, Kelsey’s camera was a life line for us as she used it to share a little slice of the tranquility and harmony of her life with us. Many of us have been able to swear off Prozac or other mood altering chemicals due to the uplifting nature of Kelsey’s photography and her accompanying word essays. The loss of her camera at the hands of United Airlines — the same gentleman (using the term loosely) who broke the Taylor guitar http://youtu.be/5YGc4zOqozo) — has left many of us with a similar loss as we grieve this void in our lives. Coping does come at a price, and sad to say, we may feel obligated to pass along these costs to United Airlines if Kelsey’s camera is not returned. Coping for many of us comes in different flavors, and determining both the actual and the punitive damages will be challenging. Sure there is the re-subscription to Prozac, but how do we account for more Goodwill visits, SAL’s, garage sales, Frogge’s, Lightwell, and the new golf clubs, outfits, jewelry, that have had to offset the daily photo pacifier. Please return Kelsey’s camera. I promise this will be a less costly option for United Airlines. Yours Sincerely, A Kelsey Blogger fan”.

    What do you think? I say go for it. A mass mailing protest.

    OK. Enough rambling. Looking forward to being with you.

    • wow dad. that was incredible

    • also, the email to united is: customerrelations@united.com and you can reference ticket numbers 016 8632 937526 and 016 8632 937527 and 016 2127 734884 and 016 2127 734885
      thanks!

      • Mel says:

        Officially sent them an email…I’m sure they will love it…but I’m putting my bets on your dad. Got the generic auto-reply email: “Thank you for contacting United Airlines. We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience we have caused and please know that we are working diligently behind the scenes to resolve your issue.” Noted the reply email address was “lzpostoffice@united.com”. Apropos address, eh? Hehe.

        BTW, dear, sweet Carmelita was supposed to become the McWilliams family pet after the party. Head of household looked the gift horse in the mouth, put his foot down and said, “no”. Corrine does a good enough job knocking her own teeth out in the bathtub…no horse necessary.

      • mel, you are awesome. and alas. wish that carmelita was a bit nicer. she would be such a cool pet.

  7. your mother says:

    possibly your father wants his own blog on your blog? maybe while he stays and visits you he can write your post for you….readers strap in…a little wisdom, a few lectures, a few commentaries of various activities he has done while there….all reader worthy I am sure.

  8. Lindsey says:

    Oh, guest posting, we would all love that I am sure!

  9. Whitney says:

    I love my iphone but it does have its issues unfortunately. I can’t tell you how many times I’ve wanted to throw it at the wall. 🙂 But having a sleeping baby in the next room precludes that kind of immaturity. 🙂

  10. Kristy says:

    Kels, your commenters are very nearly as humorous and uplifting as you are…maybe even a tie for first place. I was looking at your blog last night with Ian and asked if he reads the comments on each post. He shook his head and I gasped, “Baaabe, they are hi-larious, especially Kelsey’s parents.” That’s what I told him. So on he read, and laughed darn right out loud at your dad’s letter to United.

Leave a Reply

