hole in many

I have a new hobby.

The satisfaction one gets from whacking a ball and making it go soaring into the air is immensely wonderful.

This satisfaction lured Wesley into the game quite a bit before me and I decided if he was going to get into it, I was going to get into it. After all, who wants to sit at home while their husband is off golfing.

Then, Wes tromped hither, yither, and yonder searching for a good pair of golf clubs and all I thought was, ‘drat this game of golf’.

Finally, he found a set. And told me to come take a swing. I wish I could have take a picture of Wesley’s face after I hit those first two balls. I had not swung a club in years and the last time I had done so, I had hit myself. But these two shots were just beautiful, soaring high, and straight into the air. His face was the picture of trying not to show surprise, shock, and a touch of chagrin.

And immediately my competitive spirit roared within me as I whooped and hollered, ‘Wes, you know that was a good shot and you know you just about fell to the ground in shock and you know…!’

Chuckle.

Then we went to the driving range. And I found I was not near as good as I had planned on being. So that was a bummer but it didn’t keep me down long. Although every time I see Wesley whack the ball with a driver and watch it soar hundreds of yards into the air, I’m immensely jealous and mutter, ‘drat!’

Really I don’t. I more say things like, ‘Wow babe. You’re my hero.’

Anyways…We just took our first golf lessons last night. It was blazing hot. With bugs. But quite enjoyable nonetheless. We learned the basics of putting and chipping. Wes has a bit more experience than me in the game but we’re still pretty much on the same field as far as learning the what for’s and how to’s of the game; its so much fun to learn something together. We get to partner up and help each other and swelter together and give each other triumphant looks (I try real hard not to whoop on the course) as a putt shot sails into the hole.

I am determined to be good at this game.

We’ll see how it goes.

In the meantime, I’m having a swell time learning the ropes.

About A Story of Us

My grandparents 57th wedding anniversary and my first wedding anniversary motivated to journal the adventures life brought our way . I hope to amuse the friends and family I have all over the country and, when I am my grandmothers age, look back at what I have written and chuckle. It's been four years since I began and the snickers I bring myself as I look back propel me to write on. Cheers to the future and happy memories of the past.
This entry was posted in Life as it Happens, Uncategorized, Year 3. Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to hole in many

  1. Virginia Friend says:

    Oh I need to learn this game with my hubs. I want to play the game with him until we’re old and can’t walk the course anymore.

  2. Catie Jo says:

    Good luck! Sounds like fun:)

  3. your mother says:

    I did this with your Dad many moons ago. I too had trouble keeping my jubilee quiet on the course after a well place shot. I remember once after the “be quiet rule” was enforced by your father I took matters into my own hands and my amazing driver became that thing the front guy in the marching band holds and I marched all over the well manicured green. Very quietly of course.

    • mom. this really is quite hilarious. i would have loved to have seen dad’s face. and i’m sure you can only picture the look on your two childrens face if you did this again.

      • your mother says:

        I did all this well before you were born…..then I grew up and never did anything funny ever again. The look on your father’s face? It was a mixture of “I’m gonna smack you right after I get through laughing” kinda look….

    • amanda easley says:

      haha! I can picture this Lauren 🙂

  4. Mel says:

    It’s so nice to know that there are other demure wives out there who are willing to go wherever their audacious husbands will them to be. I’m happy for you. Glad you’re enjoying it. Store up lots of memories. Not that you never do anything fun after kids…plenty of fun…it just changes. Prime example: hubby had the bright idea to go rollerblading the other night. We put the two older kids on their bikes, Claire in her push-along buggy, and off we went. It was exhilirating…for us and the neighborhood.

  5. Pingback: Golf Outing for Two or Four with Cart Rental at Shadowood Golf Course in Seymour » Get your daily Groupon deals

  6. Pingback: $35 for a Golf Outing for Two with Cart Rental at Iroquois Golf Club (Up to $102 Value) » Get your daily Groupon deals

  7. Pingback: Golf Outing for Two or Four at Eaglequest Coquitlam » Get your daily Groupon deals

  8. amanda easley says:

    Go Kelsey! What a fun thing to do together! Wish I could’ve been there to see “the look” 🙂 Next time we’re together I’ll drive the cart and you and Wes, Phil and Parker can play a round…

  9. Pingback: $24 for Mini-Golf and Driving-Range Outing for Two at Target Golf Centre (Up to $51 Value) » Get your daily Groupon deals

  10. Pingback: $49 for Two Hours of Virtual Golf Including Club Rental for Up to Four People at The Golf Club at Chelsea Piers ($110 Value) » Get your daily Groupon deals

Leave a Reply

