Paisley Croutons

When I got married, I knew how to make cookies and Mexican rice, and croutons. I believe my mother was the one to make the first batch but after that it became my responsibility. These croutons were very well loved and I loved telling people how to make them, ‘do this, do that, brush garlic butter over, sprinkle some paisleys…’ A friend cut in my monologue about this point and gasped, ‘Paisleys?! Kelsey, I think you mean parsley!’ And sure enough I did. And who knows how many people I told to sprinkle paisleys over their croutons. So to remedy that, I’ll show you my method.

I store all sorts of half eaten bread in my freezer, the shoes (heels) of loaves, loaves that I incorrectly made, all good dinner breads, none of this wonder bread business. And then, when I’m in the mood, I pull all this bread out and slice it up.

I like mine fairly big (less cutting), my mother does them smaller. Up to you.

Arrange on an old cookie sheet, one with rims is nice.

Crush up a nice amount of garlic, the more the merrier, (I think I did around 5 cloves for this batch) and around a stick of butter. Melt that all together.

Yum. I can almost smell it. Now douse all those little croutons-make sure they’re all properly covered.

And this is where the *parsley* comes in.

Generously sprinkle croutons with parsely and garlic salt.

And bake at 350 in an oven for 10 to 15 minutes depending on the size of the batch. Stir occasionally.

Yum.

I store mine in a ziploc in the freezer and reheat them in a small pan on the stove whenever I want a chicken ceasar salad wrap.

Divine.

You’ll never be satisfied with a store bought crouton after these delights. Compare wonderfulness to munching on carboard.

Enjoy!

About A Story of Us

My grandparents 57th wedding anniversary and my first wedding anniversary motivated to journal the adventures life brought our way . I hope to amuse the friends and family I have all over the country and, when I am my grandmothers age, look back at what I have written and chuckle. It's been four years since I began and the snickers I bring myself as I look back propel me to write on. Cheers to the future and happy memories of the past.
This entry was posted in food. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Paisley Croutons

  1. Catie Jo says:

    YUM….my mouth’s watering….

  2. Alisha says:

    I make these ALL the time! And my recipe says “Paisley Croutons from Kelsey” I think of you every time 🙂

    Alisha

  3. Jana says:

    Ok so here’s a little story… Monday evening I was making chicken ceasar salad wraps and thought I wonder if Kelsey’s online so I could chat at her and ask how she does her croutons! Alas you were not so I did my own rendition with the help of an online recipe and they were good but I still wanted to get your recipe! 🙂 So thanks!! I’ll use this method next time! 🙂

  4. Lana M. says:

    I’ve never made croutons but I’ll have to give this a try. But in your picture, is that salsa on your ceasar salad wrap?

  5. Vicky says:

    I would like to know what carboard is…I never have heard of it before…Love your blogs, Thanks…I will definitely have to try these croutons

  6. Im's mom says:

    made these little darlings for the salad last night. yum yum.
    share the delicious bruchetta next?

Leave a Reply

