homegrown tomatoes

Ain’t nothin’ in the world that I like better
Than bacon & lettuce & homegrown tomatoes
Up in the mornin’ out in the garden

Get you a ripe one, don’t get a hard one
Plant `em in the spring eat `em in the summer
All winter with out `em’s a culinary bummer
I forget all about the sweatin’ & diggin’
Everytime I go out & pick me a big one!

Homegrown tomatoes homegrown tomatoes
What’d life be without homegrown tomatoes
Only two things that money can’t buy
That’s true love & homegrown tomatoes

You can go out to eat & that’s for sure
But it’s nothin’ a homegrown tomato won’t cure
Put `em in a salad, put `em in a stew
You can make your very own tomato juice
Eat `em with eggs, eat `em with gravy
Eat `em with beans, pinto or navy
Put `em on the side put `em in the middle
Put a homegrown tomato on a hotcake griddle
If I’s to change this life I lead
I’d be Johnny Tomato Seed
`Cause I know what this country needs
Homegrown tomatoes in every yard you see
When I die don’t bury me
In a box in a cemetary
Out in the garden would be much better
I could be pushin’ up homegrown tomatoes

Cough cough. Here I am. Thank you John Denver for that stimulating piece of music. I hope you all enjoyed it.

Small disclaimer. All those luscious tomatoes are from my mother-in-laws garden. Shockingly enough, mine somehow never reach their God-given potential. But there’s always next year.

And I hope you are all enjoying some homegrown tomatoes, homegrown tomatoes, what would life be…

About A Story of Us

My grandparents 57th wedding anniversary and my first wedding anniversary motivated to journal the adventures life brought our way . I hope to amuse the friends and family I have all over the country and, when I am my grandmothers age, look back at what I have written and chuckle. It's been four years since I began and the snickers I bring myself as I look back propel me to write on. Cheers to the future and happy memories of the past.
This entry was posted in food. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to homegrown tomatoes

  1. Aunt Terri says:

    My mouth is a-waterin’ right now! Them words and pitchures set me right off. I sure do miss them home-grown termaters.
    Thanks, Yer Aint Terri

  2. Lana M. says:

    Oh my word! Those are some serious tomatoes!!! Mine never reach their God given potential either so I didn’t even bother this year.

  3. Cathy says:

    Ronda and her green thumb! I am with you and Lana. Ours always look somewhat pathetic, but usually manage to produce enough to keep us replanting every year. This year is probably the exception…they look good, but don’t have many green ones on them. Great post, by the way! I lerv homegrown termaters!

  4. your mother says:

    your MIL needs to let the rest of us know what steroid she gives her “maters…knowing her it probably is a secret just like her asparagus spears that feed all of Char’ville.

  5. Jana says:

    Wow Kels! Brings back memories of Michael and Tyson singing that song! Awesome, hard work you did there! 🙂

  6. Virginia Friend says:

    What an adorable picture of you in the garden!

  7. Wendy says:

    Thanks for the inspiration Kelsey, as I am making more salsa with my awesome homegrown tomatoes, we have 70 plants and by the end of the summer I am matered out 🙂 Thanks for the post as usual.

Leave a Reply

