Lake Moo Maw

Last weekend, we ventured a few hours east and found ourselves at the lovely Lake Moo Maw.Seriously such a beautiful place.

A few friends joined us and we had a wonderful time eating scrumptious camp food, singing ‘Two less lonely people in the world’ to the love birds next door, watching the guys wake board and cruising around on our trusty steed.

Well, scratch that trusty steed thought. For the second time in two summers, our prop fell off. How does this even happen? Luckily this occurred at the end of our second day there so we’d had lots of boat time with the engine running.

On the third day, we had lots of boat time without the engine running.

Instead of 130 horse power, we had 5 kick power plus one paddle power.

Here’s the paddler.And here’s four of the kickers. I really can’t explain how much fun that was. Just a great example of how life is all about teamwork. We kicked and kicked and occasionally would do a ‘1, 2, 3, push’ and shove with all our might and then quickly swim to catch up with the boat.

According to our gps/speedometer we topped out at 1.8 miles per hour.

We were pretty pleased.

After we arrived at our destination, we weren’t really sure what had brought us so after a few casts of the fishing pole, we turned around and headed somewhere new. With a new plan. This method worked beautifully and us girls just perched on the back and dutifully kicked, read books and washed hair.

Such an enjoyable weekend, so wonderful to get away from noise and life and just be one with nature so to speak. I did not have these charitable thoughts towards the fellow with the generator who wanted coffee at 8 am.

But I’m over it.

And looking forward to going back.

About A Story of Us

My grandparents 57th wedding anniversary and my first wedding anniversary motivated to journal the adventures life brought our way . I hope to amuse the friends and family I have all over the country and, when I am my grandmothers age, look back at what I have written and chuckle. It's been four years since I began and the snickers I bring myself as I look back propel me to write on. Cheers to the future and happy memories of the past.
This entry was posted in friends, Travels. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Lake Moo Maw

  1. laurie says:

    So much fun! Can’t wait to do it again sometime.

  2. Virginia Friend says:

    It looks like you all had a blast!

  3. Catie Jo says:

    Enjoyed reading about your adventure! Sounds like lots o’ fun:)

  4. Catie Jo says:

    I had to laugh when I got to the part about 1 paddler and 4 kickers:)

  5. Chad says:

    Um…is Erin even helping or just cheesing for the camera? Sounded like a fun weekend.

  6. Kristy says:

    JEALOOOUS!

  7. Pingback: i think this is now an annual tradition. | A Story of Us

Leave a Reply

