Crusher Times

This is the Crusher.

It was the family’s fun vehicle. We took it over hill and dale, by precarious cliffs, made many a mother scream, and once, drove it from the Bay Area to San Luis Obispo because our other cars just looked boring.

It was in this baby that I learned to drive stick. Before I had my permit, I was chugging along the back roads in this thing and, to my recollection, only killed it once. My dad may tell you differently though.

I’d been driving through the town late at night with Dad and Davey, going through stoplights like a champ when I rolled up to a red light on a slight incline. Dad and Davey immediately starting hollering out instructions, explanations, how to guides, etc. on how to start a car on a hill.

Of course, this completely overloaded my brain and I promptly killed it. I am convinced that if they hadn’t said a word I’d have launched through the intersection beautifully.

Anyways. That was the Crusher.

It got crushed.

And these here hooligans kinda looked pleased with their work.

In all seriousness, we were all given panic attacks when these pictures were texted and emailed around and were incredibly grateful to hear that they all just climbed out the back hatch. Gives me chills just looking at the pictures.

Anyways, Dad bought the Crusher back from the insurance company for a whopping three hundred bucks. Not a bad deal. And, with Davey’s help, he immediately began restoring it.

And we thought the Crusher was cool before it’s restoration.

Now it’s like our white steed, galloping gallantly before us. We take it to the back 40, go visit the neighbors, and it’s been our limo to a wedding or two.

My favorite part is the wind shield wipers that wipe madly against the air.

And the baffled looks from neighbors as we serenely smile and nod.

The Crusher is Cody and Tessa’s favorite vehicle. True to form, Cody lays down in the back and falls asleep while Tessa plays the part of a hood ornament.

Saftely goggles are always helpful at night when the bugs are plentiful and the windshield doesn’t catch them.

Dad’s thinking about starting up a touring service in Cayucos.

Dad, as a tour guide, would be excellent. The amount of wonderful fluff he would throw around would be a real treat.

Hit him up so you too can have Crusher time.

About A Story of Us

My grandparents 57th wedding anniversary and my first wedding anniversary motivated to journal the adventures life brought our way . I hope to amuse the friends and family I have all over the country and, when I am my grandmothers age, look back at what I have written and chuckle. It's been four years since I began and the snickers I bring myself as I look back propel me to write on. Cheers to the future and happy memories of the past.
This entry was posted in family. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Crusher Times

  1. Virginia Friend says:

    what a fun story. thanks for sharing!

  2. Jukebox mom says:

    The seats even look old fashioned…Kelsey, you are wonderful at putting words on your blog…keep it up, I enjoy a laugh now and then…Thx

  3. Aunt Stace says:

    I love the crusher! Many good times in that thing 🙂

  4. brookie says:

    ahem. that was me in the former post.

  5. Chad says:

    nothing like a ride in the Crusher, I would highly recommend it to anyone traveling to The Ranch

  6. Aunt Stace says:

    Who would have dreamed that the Crusher would be part of a photo shoot with the latest Groom and his Groomsmen? Awesome. Long live the Crusher!

  7. U Dave says:

    That thing really belongs back here in some rural part of Texas…or Alabama…or… :-))

Leave a Reply

