not a paid advertisement

This is a story of a stolen camera.

Mine!

How’d you guess.

So. On day two of operation ‘get to Virginia,’ Wes and I boarded our flight from LAX to IAD, our final destination. We had no checked luggage, just our carry on that we wheeled around.

Our seating section was called and we ventured down the jetway to the airplane door, where a rather irate lady demanded that we hand over our luggage as the aircraft was full.

In the flash of thought that went through my head as I handed over my nikon d90, my laptop, and my heels, I thought, ‘oh should probably pull out the valuables but they’ve been putting our luggage in the plane on the hops over and we’re stopping at Dulles, no connections, it’ll be fine.’ And I handed over my carry on.

And then the engine didn’t start, second plane was broken, you know. And so my dear belongings were sent to Dulles sans me.

When we touched down in Dulles two days later, I turned to Wesley and said, ‘It’ll be a miracle if my camera is still there.’

It wasn’t. We found our luggage no problem but I told the lady I wanted to open it right there to make sure all belongings were intact. And though my suitcase is small enough to be carry on and my nikon is not small, we tore that suitcase apart looking for it. Not there. A lady gave us a form to fill out but didn’t give me very much hope of United Airlines coming through for me.

I was sad. That camera and I were pals. We’d been all over together and it had made me some beautiful memories. I was also exhausted. I was also finally in Virginia. And I wasn’t surprised to find my camera gone. It was a bit of a strange and extremely annoying feeling to know that someone just went through your belongings and helped themselves. But I just kinda shrugged and told Wes, ‘I’m really sad.’

And then I texted my Allstate agent.

And then I slept for 5 hours.

And then I woke up and saw a text from my Allstate agent that said, ‘Call me.’

Those texts are generally not good. Good news can be easily stated. Bad news requires all sorts of explanations.

I knew that my camera was somewhere on my insurance policies. I remembered talking about it two years ago when I became an Allstate customer. But I thought it was just on my homeowners policy and I’d have to make a gigantic deductible that would probably be over half of what I had lost with my camera and then my rate would skyrocket and then…

In short, I was convinced that United nor Allstate could really help me. And that made me sad. And I was trying to figure out how to start a little fund raiser. But I decided to call my agent before working out the details. And he told me, ‘We had your camera on a SPP Policy and you have a zero deductible for up to $1800.’

And I wept with happiness. And would have blessed him in five different languages except I could only think of one. So I blessed him in that one.

We are still planning on duking it out with United. I would love to write a song to them. You’re all welcome to help me with the lyrics. But knowing that, if push doesn’t come to shove, all I have to is make a claim with Allstate and buy my beloved camera with its 18 to 200mm lens is such a peaceful feeling.

So, my little lovelies. Are you in good hands? Cause I was.

And it really was such a lovely feeling. Knowing that I didn’t have to start a fund raiser.

If you’re now wondering about your precious little valuables, I recommend you get in contact with your insurance agent and find out if they’re covered. Or just email me at kelsey@allstate.com and I’ll cover them for you!

How cool is that?

And I’ll keep you updated on the battlefront with United.

Send me your couplets.

About A Story of Us

My grandparents 57th wedding anniversary and my first wedding anniversary motivated to journal the adventures life brought our way . I hope to amuse the friends and family I have all over the country and, when I am my grandmothers age, look back at what I have written and chuckle. It's been four years since I began and the snickers I bring myself as I look back propel me to write on. Cheers to the future and happy memories of the past.
This entry was posted in Life as it Happens. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to not a paid advertisement

  1. Lindsey says:

    So very cool, Kelsey!

  2. Shanny says:

    I am so excited to see the music video all about this mishap! so happy for you! Yay!

  3. Tracy says:

    This is good news:) VERY glad for you, and as always love your story telling:)

  4. Kristy Cotten says:

    i’m so glad to hear that you will get your camera replaced! what a relief. can’t wait to hear the continuing saga about United.

  5. Virginia Friend says:

    wow! I’m so happy for you, Kelsey! Still a bummer that you lost your pictures, though.

  6. The Ponderer says:

    Hmmm, sounds like a very fun challenge….the song bit, that is. It’s just that “United Loses Camera’s” doesn’t quite have the same ring to it now, does it?

Leave a Reply

