wow

I was able to watch most of Tyson’s memorial service on a web cam and was so encouraged to see so many that Tyson has touched and the testimony he had for the Lord. And then I saw this. A local news station was there and reported that over 1,000 people gathered to remember Tyson and the love he had for his family, friends, students and Christ.

And all I can say is wow. What a testimony. Matthew 5: 14-16 comes to mind-14 “You are the light of the world. A town built on a hill cannot be hidden. 15 Neither do people light a lamp and put it under a bowl. Instead they put it on its stand, and it gives light to everyone in the house. 16 In the same way, let your light shine before others, that they may see your good deeds and glorify your Father in heaven.

What joy to know that Tyson lived his life brightly lit and that even his death cannot dim the testimony of how brightly he shone. I am grateful to God that his memorial service kept the light blazing.

Bless the Lord!

About A Story of Us

My grandparents 57th wedding anniversary and my first wedding anniversary motivated to journal the adventures life brought our way . I hope to amuse the friends and family I have all over the country and, when I am my grandmothers age, look back at what I have written and chuckle. It's been four years since I began and the snickers I bring myself as I look back propel me to write on. Cheers to the future and happy memories of the past.
This entry was posted in Life as it Happens. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to wow

  1. Jeannine says:

    Although I didn’t know Tyson, I share your thoughts, Kelsey. Watching the livestream and then the news reports has been a beautiful and powerful reminder of how God can work in a person’s life. The ripple effects we each create can be unending – both positively and negatively. God help me to create positive ones.

  2. Gram says:

    That is so wonderful Kelsey….glad you posted that…didn’t know that many showed up….I got to watch a small part of the memorial. I didn’t know Tyson at all really, just knew who he was…such an encouragement to know how many you can reach by just letting your light shine for Him on a daily basis (even at Walmart and Goodwill :)…!!

  3. Lana M. says:

    It truly was an amazing time. Glad you got to see it.

  4. Jana says:

    It wasn’t quite 1,000, more like 8 or 900 but it was very amazing and I’m so thankful we got to be there! Can’t wait to see you! And I’m soooo sorry about your camera and all the flight problems.

  5. G&G says:

    It is wonderful to know that one of the students e-mailed the family and said that they had accepted the LORD at the memorial service.

  6. Cathy says:

    We sat behind a lot of the students. It was a long service and they were paying attention the whole time. I just read G & G’s comment. What good news! The gospel was definitely given out that day by many. Even the TV news seem to highlight the faith of Tyson. We never know who we are touching by letting Christ shine thru us.

  7. Anna Stamper says:

    I was wondering if you have any idea if a video was taken during the service and how we could get a copy. We didn’t know about the livefeed until later.

    Thanks

Leave a Reply

