Speak Tessa!


So, first, a little recap.

Air traffic control people delay Tuesday flight. Recommend we re-book for Wednesday.

Fly to Los Angeles on Wednesday. Sit in airport and two different planes for ten hours. Fly back to San Luis.

Wesley stays up til two in the morning talking to United. He books a flight for Thursday.

I am utterly bewildered.

And now, a story.

Many many years ago, this fellow Balaam was riding on a donkey, traveling somewhere he was not supposed to go. Him and the donkey are plodding along when the donkey sees the Angel of the Lord and stops. Balaam tries to get the donkey to go, beats him a few times but to no avail. Finally the donkey turns around and says, ‘Dude! The Angel of the Lord is standing right in front of us with his sword drawn and you want me to just try to sidle on by him and see if he won’t notice us as we slip by him?! Not a good idea!!’ And Balaam looks and is like, ‘Oh. Uh. Wow. Uh. Thanks.’ (For a clearer translation, hop on over to Numbers 22.)

This is so how I was feeling by Thursday morning. ‘Uh, Lord, are you trying to tell us something? If so, what? I’m really confused. Where’s my final destination?! Tessa, speak! Tell me something!’

As we sat once again on Thursday afternoon in a plane in Los Angeles, the pilot announced after 20 minutes of sitting at the gate, ‘Well folks, this is your captain speaking, we’re having a bit of difficulty shutting the plane door. We’ll let you know further details when we have them.’

Wes and I looked at each other with a ‘No way’ look. Absolutely no way. And I was confused again. I wondered, ‘So do we keep just trying to force our way out of California? Because I sure feel like we’re being held up by the Angel of the Lord. Is it really possible to spend three days trying to leave a state?’

Tessa never did say anything. And they figured out how to shut the door. Amazing. And we’re home.

And it’s so lovely to be at our final destination.

Only bummer? My nikon d90 was stolen. With all my pictures. Sniff.

More on that later.

About A Story of Us

My grandparents 57th wedding anniversary and my first wedding anniversary motivated to journal the adventures life brought our way . I hope to amuse the friends and family I have all over the country and, when I am my grandmothers age, look back at what I have written and chuckle. It's been four years since I began and the snickers I bring myself as I look back propel me to write on. Cheers to the future and happy memories of the past.
This entry was posted in Life as it Happens, Travels. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Speak Tessa!

  1. Virginia Friend says:

    Welcome Home!!!!!!!! See you so soon, I hope!

  2. your mother says:

    nice picture…the perfect napping spot at the ranch…great story. so thankful you are home. the camera part of the story makes me grouchy….but i just re-read the sentence above and i am ok.

  3. Abbs says:

    Aw Kels, glad you made it! C-ville isnt the same without you! So it’s good they let you come home!

  4. Virginia Friend says:

    I totally forgot to say something in my last comment. “what a dreadful thing to find your camera missing!” So So sorry for you.

Leave a Reply

