oh how we laughed

First of all, I should probably thank my dear mother for being wonderful, for providing such entertainment, for letting us laugh at her, and for joining in the laughter. Because, oh, how we laughed.

So, as I’ve mentioned, I went to California. And surprised a few folks. Including my grandparents. Our scheduled departure time for leaving to pick up the grandparents was noon but Gramps called at the crack of dawn to see if we could move the departure time to ten am. For those who don’t know my family, leaving on time is an event in and of itself; two hours early is unheard of.

We did manage to arrive at 10:47 to my grandparents abode and as we pulled into the driveway, I gave the camera to Dad to snap a few pictures of the surprise. Bad move. Well. Considering the enjoyment we got out of these pictures, maybe it was just as well.

So I hop out of the car. Gramps and Grama are both intently studying the inside of their trunk. I stand about ten feet away from them for a good 9 seconds until they notice me then for another 8 as they stare. Then things compute and we laugh and hug and exclaim together.

After a few minutes of chattering, I look behind me to see Dad and Davey snickering and chortling and snorting while Mom is staring at them with a ‘you guys think you’re so funny and you’re not’ expression. I ask to be filled in and Mom just rolls her eyes and says, ‘There making fun of me and it’s not even my fault.’

We all pile in the van with me and Dad in the very back and I ask again what was so funny. Dad immediately starts wheezing and Mom turns around, glares, and says, ‘Dad just took a bunch of pictures of the back of my head!’ I turned on the camera and bent over it with Dad to see about 27 of these.

I start to wheeze myself and exclaim, ‘Dad! Why didn’t you move?!’ Mom pipes up, ‘Because they were too busy laughing at me!’ And I can see why. Mom looks like she’s trying to be ever so sneaky and just epicly fails. I composed a collage for you so you can see the progress of the surprise and mom diligently tracking.

And then we arrive at these pictures. And Dad and I start gasping for air. And these are just too good so I can’t smoosh them into a collage. Just scroll fast.

Oh. Gasp. So funny. And never mind the surprise going on in the background. Let’s just see how many angles we can get of mom. Laugh.

Anyways, after we had wiped the tears from our face, we passed the camera up to Mom and she couldn’t help but chortle herself. Then she gave it back and we looked at them again and oh, how we laughed.

And you guys wonder where I get my exuberance.

Chortle.

About A Story of Us

My grandparents 57th wedding anniversary and my first wedding anniversary motivated to journal the adventures life brought our way . I hope to amuse the friends and family I have all over the country and, when I am my grandmothers age, look back at what I have written and chuckle. It's been four years since I began and the snickers I bring myself as I look back propel me to write on. Cheers to the future and happy memories of the past.
This entry was posted in best of, family, Happiness, Travels. Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to oh how we laughed

  1. Cathy says:

    I loved the series of pictures. Your grandparents don’t even realize your mom is anywhere near! Choice photography, I must say, but it clearly shows your mom’s delight in the surprise!!

  2. the lady with the shy, small smile.... says:

    I’m not sure who that person is in the camera because the person she thinks she is is not doing any of that , in her mind she is just smiling very demurely , almost faintly, not even all the way smiling…..I could write more but I’ve run out of time, I need to get to my appointment with my therapist that helps me with situations like these.

  3. dad says:

    shy, small smile? How about Mrs Cravitz? Here’s the real story. I’m supposed to be official photographer and capture the moment. Very brief instructions from the camera owner. “Be discreet”. I slip out of vehicle. Casually.. Mrs. Cravitz leaps out of vehicle. Not so casually. Directly into line of camera angle. Now I ask you, who is to blame? Official photographer who has already claimed spot? Or Mrs. Cravitz who wants birds eye view of activities. Now I ask you again, who is supposed to move? Highly paid official cameraman or Mrs. Cravitz? Imagine you are at a wedding. Does the cameraman dodge around the lookey loos who want to get up close and personal and observe the first smooch from 4 feet away? Is that what you want to see? A cameraman prancing around the activities? Listening to Mrs. Cravitz defend her position was highly entertaining for all but Mrs. Cravitz who took umbrage to the arguments that she could have been slightly more discreet. All in all she is a nice lady to live with so we won’t be too hard on her. And she was a little besotted to have her daughter back in town for few nice days, so we probably should have gone easier on her. We love you Mrs. Cravitz.

  4. Virginia Friend says:

    Oh, I VERY MUCH enjoyed this post! I laughed hard, but I had to b quiet, because my child is sleeping in the next room over. Mrs Cravitz is adorable! I’m thinking that she and the camera man were in perfect places. Thanks for sharing this moment with all of us.

  5. Jess says:

    HAAA HA HA HA!!! How I love your family! Here’s a good picture of Mrs. Cravitz for your enjoyment (not sure if this will work) file:///Users/b/Desktop/Picture%2013.png….I laughed pretty hard. Glad to see I’m not alone! I have to say, with that much camera exposure, good thing you curled your hair, auntie!

  6. Chad says:

    Thanks for the good laugh!

  7. Alisha says:

    That is hilarious! Couldn’t stop laughing! Glad you had such a good time!

    Alisha

  8. Kristy says:

    Good one, Kels! (hearty laughter)

  9. Aunt Stace says:

    That whole series is just great! Reminds me of a birthday a few years back where the surprise was officially pulled off and dear sister was SO happy. Great post Kelsey!

  10. Jana says:

    Oh wow that was great!! Thanks for the laughs Mrs. Cravitz!! I have seen that shy, small smile before but it only last a couple seconds before it’s followed by a big smile and some laughing! 🙂 And you can totally tell where you get your writing talents when you read your parent’s comments Kels! 🙂

  11. your mother says:

    I am ready for a new post dearie……this one is a little on the boring side

  12. amanda easley says:

    Ok, that was HILARIOUS!! I am glad to know that I am not the only one who gets laughed at my her husband and kids! 🙂

Leave a Reply

