Here I am!

And you’ll never guess where. I’m still rather surprised to find myself here. It’s quite spectacular and I keep thinking about the first few people who stumbled across this place and the awe they must have felt.

Any guesses?

Imagine just stumbling across this view. In case you don’t recognize, this is the lovely Yosemite Valley and if you squint you can see Half Dome in the background. As I said, pretty awe-inspiring.

So. How do I find myself here? Well, on Monday afternoon, I was working hard on the job site (actually, I was sitting on my can doing not much of anything. Most of Charlottesville’s internet was down due to a Century Link problem and as our phones are connected to our internet there wasn’t a whole lot to accomplish) when Wes called me. And told me that my mom wanted me to fly out on Wednesday. And thats why she’d been calling all morning. So I called her and she said, ‘Um, will you come out, Davey has the days off and we’re going to Yosemite with Grampa and Grama and the family’s coming over and I’m looking for tickets but I can’t find anything.’

The chances of actually finding a ticket seemed pretty slim so I decided to humor her and told her to search away.  After an hour or so she came up with the bright idea to use air miles and called to tell me that everything was ready for the purchase. I gulped. That she would actually find something hadn’t really occurred to me and I was scared. I detest flying across the country and leaving Wes. The terrible thoughts that float through my head of possible circumstances that could happen to either of us while separated by 3000 miles immediately flood over me . I called Wes and he told me to go. And here I am. And I did not have to spend the night in Phoenix. Hallelujah.

Since I only had two days warning of the trip, I figured I might as well surprise some folks. Brooke’s arms flew up and she stammered, ‘wh-wha-what!?’ Gramps stared at me for probably a full 8 seconds before he responded and boy do I have some great shots of that. Not exactly of the surprise but more of the viewers of the surprise. I’ll share those with you when I have better internet connection.

It is great to be here. Wes is sorely missed because as it’s been said before, he’s the nice one of the family. But we’ll be out here together in a week and half. I just have to trot back to Virginia for a week before we come back.

And before I sign off, it just wouldn’t be right if I didn’t leave you with a keeper.

It’s wonderful to be reunited.

That’s all folks! (for now)

About A Story of Us

My grandparents 57th wedding anniversary and my first wedding anniversary motivated to journal the adventures life brought our way . I hope to amuse the friends and family I have all over the country and, when I am my grandmothers age, look back at what I have written and chuckle. It's been four years since I began and the snickers I bring myself as I look back propel me to write on. Cheers to the future and happy memories of the past.
This entry was posted in family, Travels. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Here I am!

  1. Abbs says:

    How’s fun Kels!!! Have a most delightful trip!, and we’ll enjoy your pool!-thanks

  2. Jana says:

    Glad you’re having a good time! Thanks for the party Wed, the pool felt awesome! 🙂 And we missed you but I know you ‘re having fun! See ya next week.

  3. Jess says:

    2 things: #1: have been wanting to write and tell you I’ve missed your blog. Like REALLY! LOVE it! and #2: very excited that I will get to see you (you are here this weekend, right?). I feel quite privileged! Very happy for you and your fam!!

  4. Jeannine says:

    Love it, Kels!! Enjoy those fun, spur-of-the-moment special memories!!!

  5. Amy D says:

    Missed you last night : ) So glad you r there and I know having fun~

Leave a Reply

