The Emperor’s New Groove

How I have never done this, until last week, I do not know. But I have now done it and will share it with you.

Down the road from us is a little country market that goes by the name of Yoders. There you can buy all sorts of cool things ranging from spices to candy to washrags to books. It’s always a place the family wants to hit, mainly because of the peach rings. So, the family was out and off to Yoders we went.

I did know there was goats there. Whenever I drove by, I’d always excitedly inform myself, ‘oh! looks at the baby goats!’. But I’d never gone down to visit them. Shame, shame on me. With Davey around, there wasn’t much of an option as to whether or not we would go visit the goats. And were we ever in for a treat.

Mr. Yoder built this contraption that allows you to haul food up to a deck and a plank way for the goats to come get the food. It looks like this.

Thats the beginning of this little contraption. And thats me trying to convince Mr. goat to walk the plank. He, however, was stuffing his face with Kellogg’s and was not interested in performing. So I went and found another.

This one was willing but paused along the way to make sure Davey really was hoisting the goods upwards before making the journey.

He quickly was reassured and very steadily plodded on.

Down on the ground, Davey, Mom and I chortled with delight. Dad was too busy taking these photos with his phone to do much chortling.

We did wonder what the likelihood of him falling was. And I do love this picture.

He made it to the deck and proceeded to feast.

Can you see his tail wagging?

Then, he grabbed the last mouthful and peered over the railing at us.

This is where the chortling really began. ‘Excuse me, I’ll take another bowlful please.’ Slurp slurp, chew chew.

And he just sat there smacking his lips for a good few minutes. And gazed at us.

And all we could think of was The Emperor’s New Groove. Which increased the chortling.

So. Go feed the goats. It’s good for the soul.

About A Story of Us

My grandparents 57th wedding anniversary and my first wedding anniversary motivated to journal the adventures life brought our way . I hope to amuse the friends and family I have all over the country and, when I am my grandmothers age, look back at what I have written and chuckle. It's been four years since I began and the snickers I bring myself as I look back propel me to write on. Cheers to the future and happy memories of the past.
This entry was posted in animals, family. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to The Emperor’s New Groove

  1. Amanda M says:

    An amazing adventure you had with the fam. Made me laugh.

  2. your mother says:

    ahh such a good day. and you are right, stopping and feeding the goats is just a good thing to do

  3. Kristy says:

    Photo #5 reminds me very much of “Who’s that trip-trapping over my bridge?” Surely you know that book….

Leave a Reply

