In the Backseat.

Whenever my dear brother comes back here, I hear, ‘Ooo, I’m so excited! Bodos, Raising Canes, Spudnuts, Ronda’s pretzels…ooo.’ Very little is said about being thrilled to hang out with his cool sister and brother-in-law. We somehow manage being backseat to food.

This morning, we continued tradition by getting up, thankfully not at five like last time, and toodling into town to Spudnuts.

They look like goof troopers but we’ll say it’s the car. Davey is actually quite fond of the Forrester.

‘I just feel really solid right here, nice ten-two position, wonder how this thing would handle a cross country road trip?’

‘Wow. I’m just a miracle worker when I’m in the Forrester.’

And then, as he’s poking in the fast lane, ‘Hey, yell at that guy going past to buy fresh buy local.’ (bumper sticker on the back).

After more commentary, we arrived.

Really nice looking place.

Now I’ll let Dave take it away.

Search.

Find.

Bite.

Chew.

Savor.

He makes me laugh.

So I guess I’m ok with just going along for the drive…in the backseat.

About A Story of Us

My grandparents 57th wedding anniversary and my first wedding anniversary motivated to journal the adventures life brought our way . I hope to amuse the friends and family I have all over the country and, when I am my grandmothers age, look back at what I have written and chuckle. It's been four years since I began and the snickers I bring myself as I look back propel me to write on. Cheers to the future and happy memories of the past.
This entry was posted in family, food, Happiness, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to In the Backseat.

  1. Jennifer says:

    So funny and so typical of Davey! Gotta love it. You really capture the true essence of his love for food quite well! I’m sure I’ll be hearing about all the places you’ve all eaten at for weeks after he gets back.. 🙂

  2. Aunt Terri says:

    MMMMmmmm I’m right there with ya, Davey. Makes me want a Spudnut. Spudnuts and I go way back to my nursing school days. Why in the world didn’t I go get a Spudnut while I was in VA? Guess I’ll have to go back to VA soon. Thanks for this post Kelsey…I’m going to have to clean off my keyboard. (drooling)

  3. Aunt Stace says:

    What? How come I’ve never heard of Spudnuts? Next time let’s make an appointment to try this place out.

    • ranch lady says:

      stacy it is truly delish….and you know me with donuts i can take them or leave them…these are tasty morsels

  4. jukesjourney says:

    Haha I can hear him now! This is the friend I know well lol.

  5. Chad says:

    The good thing about riding in the backseat to food food destination, is one gets to eat while the driver must give their full attention to staying on the road. I would rather be eating in the backseat over driving any day!

    • ranch lady says:

      that all sounds nice chad but when described driver has spudnuts in car it is still all about the doughnuts and passengers are required to holler out “watch out! motorcycle on left! big rig on right! DAVEY RED LIGHT!” if we want to reach destination in one piece.

  6. Whitney says:

    I can totally relate! My mom has a huge list of restaurants she has to go to while she’s visiting us. We don’t mind though, because we usually don’t eat out that often, so it’s kinda fun. 🙂

    Hope you’re enjoying your visit with your family. I know I am!

  7. brookie says:

    heyyeah. why have you never spoken of this place to me.

Leave a Reply

