silent night.

Something unusual has happened. Something that I always desperately wished for when I was in grade school and this ‘something’ happened to other kids. I thought it would be so cool. And now it’s happened. And it’s not really that cool.

I’ve lost my voice.

I always laugh [kindly] at my sister-in-law when she tries to be loud, because really, she just can’t. And I think its hilarious. Because generally, if you want volume, I can give you volume. But now, it’s an incredible effort to say anything. So I just sit and say nothing. But I’m silently contributing to the conversation at every turn. It’s been a bit enlightening as I silently say all the things I would interject into conversation. I say it in my head, then wonder, was that even necessary? Maybe this is a learning experience.

I feel kind of weird as I sit in the car with my family and Wes and silently listen to all the chatting. Because usually, if I don’t contribute to a conversation, it’s because I’m being a fuss budget about something and resort to silence. But family, I promise I’m not fussy. Just croaky.

We visited the frozen yogurt parlor tonight and I thought that might sooth the vocal chords a bit. Not so much, but I did get to enjoy listening to Davey talk to his food.

‘Oh my gosh. This is a joy. Taste this. Red velvet, cake batter and cappochino. Took me years to come up with this. Oh.’

I couldn’t visit much with the family tonight so I thought I’d come here where I still have a voice.

Thanks for listening.

And yes, having a lovely time with the family. Although we’ve seem to lost my parents somewhere along the line. Holler if you find them.

About A Story of Us

My grandparents 57th wedding anniversary and my first wedding anniversary motivated to journal the adventures life brought our way . I hope to amuse the friends and family I have all over the country and, when I am my grandmothers age, look back at what I have written and chuckle. It's been four years since I began and the snickers I bring myself as I look back propel me to write on. Cheers to the future and happy memories of the past.
This entry was posted in family, Life as it Happens. Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to silent night.

  1. I love the concept behind your blog! You will be so glad you did this…way before you have reached the 57th anniversary! You will be able to look back at so many different turns in your journey. What a great gift to you and yours. : )

  2. brookie says:

    well, i fulfilled my glasses fantasy as a child but never my losing my voice one. I guess I will live vicariously through you πŸ™‚ by the way this is a GREAT time to polish up that sign language you learned in HS

  3. Pingback: $20 to Spend on Frozen Yogurt | 4 Real Cheap

  4. Pingback: $10 to Spend on Frozen Yogurt and Treats | 4 Real Cheap

  5. Jana says:

    Looks like you caught more than just allergies! I’m sorry!! Hope your voice (and your parents!) come back soon and have a great week! πŸ™‚

  6. Chad says:

    I want some cake batter piled high with fresh fruit! I wonder if my boss will notice if I slip out to Sweet Frog on a “breakfast” break.

  7. Whitney says:

    You’ve seriously never lost your voice before? How have you managed that?! Too bad it happened while you’re with your family but I’m sure it will come back soon. πŸ™‚

  8. Aunt Stace says:

    It’s only happened to me once. It was so weird having to whisper to say anything. Finally that became so much work I did like you, and just sat there. Well I certainly hope you recover in time to join in on those lively Bowin discussions! πŸ™‚

  9. Lana M. says:

    This is called mandatory “quiet game”.

  10. Pingback: $5 for $10 Worth of Gelato, Frozen Yogurt, Smoothies, and More at Amore Gelato - Daily Couponds

  11. Pingback: $5 for $10 Worth of Gelato, Frozen Yogurt, Smoothies, and More at Amore Gelato - Koream Deals

  12. Pingback: Deal Grater » $20 to Spend on Frozen Yogurt

  13. Pingback: Deal Grater » $10 to Spend on Frozen Yogurt and Treats

  14. Cheree says:

    Aw kels, that stinks. Hope you have it back now. I lost mine for the fist time at the end of our vacation to FL. Try keepin your husband awake and calming your baby without a voice for a 16 hour trip home! Makes life interesting.

Leave a Reply

