Good Night, Sammy-the story of my life.

Early to bed, early to rise makes a man healthy, wealthy and wise.

So, that’d be lovely, if it worked. But for us folks who lie awake at night and toss and turn and think about solving the worlds problems-it’s a bit frustrating. As a baby, I stayed up til midnight, had a little snack around 6 am, then snoozed til 10:00. So maybe I should blame my parents for my poor sleeping habits. At any rate, it takes me forever to go to sleep, and I’m always dreadfully envious of those folks who fall to sleep at the drop of a hat.

So. When I was a young one my dad bought be the aforementioned book, Good Night, Sammy. And I know there’s kindred spirits out there who lay awake at night counting sheep, (I really do, they hop over the fence like they’re on pogo sticks) so I thought we’d do a little story time. Get your blankies and curl up.

Good Night, Sammy. By Cyndy Szkeres.

(This came in one of those famous boxes my mother sends me).

‘It is bedtime. Sammy is in bed. But he is not tired. Sammy’s blanket is not tired. It goes kickety-kick. His doll is not tired. It goes bouncety-bounce. His chair is not tired. It goes rickety-rock.

‘I can’t sleep! Sammy calls to his mama and papa. (don’t even know how many times I’ve uttered those words). My paw is too noisy. It goes twitchety-twitch. My pillow is too squashy. MY TAIL IS BEING TROUBLESOME!’ (I love hollering that out to Wesley. Really, just holler it out to your spouse sometime. It makes you feel so much better about life).

‘Mama gives Sammy a hug. Then she smooths the kickety-kick blanket. Papa gives Sammy’s bouncety-bounce doll a little doll kiss. He lays Sammy’s chair down on the floor. It doesn’t go rickety-rock anymore.’

‘Mama kisses Sammy’s paw. It stops going twitchety-twitch. Papa fluffs up Sammy’s squashy pillow. Then he tells Sammy’s troublesome tail a story. I’m still not tired, says Sammy. Everything is wide awake.’ (Gosh those words are familiar, and I adore Sammy’s face is this picture.).

‘Everything needs a song says Mama. Goodnight Sammy’s paws, sings Mama. Goodnight Sammy’s tummy, croons Papa. Goodnight wiggly nose, sings Sammy. Good night whiskery whiskers. Goodnight blinky eyes.’ (I sometimes read this to Wesley, he’s always thrilled, but I do a real good job on the crooning part, should any of you like me to demontrate this in person, just ask.) ‘Papa is fast asleep! Shhh, says Mama’.

‘Sammy sings very softly. Good night pajamas. Goodnight pajama buttons. Good night Mama. Mama has fallen asleep too! Sammy rolls over on his side. He pulls up the covers. He snuggles his head into the fluffy pillow.’

‘Goodnight, everybody. Goodnight, everything. Goodnight Sammy.’

zzzz

About A Story of Us

My grandparents 57th wedding anniversary and my first wedding anniversary motivated to journal the adventures life brought our way . I hope to amuse the friends and family I have all over the country and, when I am my grandmothers age, look back at what I have written and chuckle. It's been four years since I began and the snickers I bring myself as I look back propel me to write on. Cheers to the future and happy memories of the past.
This entry was posted in family. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Good Night, Sammy-the story of my life.

  1. your mother.... says:

    aww such a cute story, wish i could scan in a picture of you at age 2 when we read this story over and over and over….

  2. Imogen's Ma says:

    So, so, adorable. We need this book.

  3. Chad says:

    I read this first thing when I got to the office this morning. Not a good book to read to start off a Monday, I need something with a little more energy to start off the week.

  4. Aunt Stace says:

    I think Jess needs this one for Audrey.

  5. Lorna says:

    We used to read this to our son every night , now he is 24 =)

  6. Diana Gibb says:

    This was the favorite bedtime book for my two daughters, over and over and over again. I am using it for my final paper in my Writing for Children course in the Children’s Literature program of Penn State University. I using it to study why it touched us so much, examining the setting, characters, plot, imagery and figurative language. I hope it would be alright to include your wonderful story of how this book was part of your life in my paper. I gave our original copy to my niece, Samantha (lol) about 15 years ago and my home felt so empty without it that I scoured the internet to find a new one to place in my library a few years ago. Thank you for sharing this.

Leave a Reply

