the fox ran out on a chilly night-how we found willie.

And somehow made it to the driveway where our Sunday service was held. We pretty much blocked traffic for the next half hour as we contemplated what to do with this little kit. Wes had immediately hopped out of the car and stood at the edge of the driveway so that folks wouldn’t run him over and Willie tottered over to Wes (he has a hurt foot) and just hunkered down underneath him with a ‘please protect me’ look. It was the most adorable and sad thing I’ve seen in a while.

A Woodsman (heh) came up and said we should put it back in the thicket and his mom would take care of it so Wes and the Woodsman got it into a bag and carefully dumped him back in the wild. Except about two seconds later, Willie came charging back towards the road. We couldn’t just leave him there so we called the police to ask them if the game warden would come take him. They said no, but we could take him to the rehab center ourselves. So we’re in the process of doing that. I think.

Anyhow, he ended up in the back of our car without me or Wes ever touching him (healthy respect for wild animals) and Willie is now the shop animal up where Wes works. I took my grandparents up there yesterday to meet him.

They thought he was pretty cute.

This is the first time Willie has come to the Daffodil House. Wesley let him ride in the front seat on the way home and he was real interested in the windshield wipers and the gear shift.

He’s now doing what he does best.

Ok, this picture totally reminded me of a book my parents read to me when I couldn’t sleep!

Alas! Why did I not name him Sammy?!

Oh well. Maybe after rearing a fox, I’ll be able to compose a ‘Good night, Willie’.

But for now, I believe I’ll just say, ‘Good Night, dear reader.’

Zzzzzzz.

About A Story of Us

My grandparents 57th wedding anniversary and my first wedding anniversary motivated to journal the adventures life brought our way . I hope to amuse the friends and family I have all over the country and, when I am my grandmothers age, look back at what I have written and chuckle. It's been four years since I began and the snickers I bring myself as I look back propel me to write on. Cheers to the future and happy memories of the past.
This entry was posted in animals. Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to the fox ran out on a chilly night-how we found willie.

  1. your mother says:

    this is about the cutest thing i have seen in a long time…. is that wesley’s shirt he is curled up on?and oh that book….you my dear were read that to maybe 100 times in your lifetime!!! “my tail is being twitchy…” Dad brought it home after working many a late hour and you would still be up to greet him “i’m not sleepy daddy”….

  2. amanda easley says:

    That is too cute Kelsey, loved your post. I cannot believe you have a baby fox. I love the way he is curled up on Wes’s lap 🙂

  3. Kara says:

    I want one. 🙂 So adorable. How fun that you have a pet fox.

  4. Lana M. says:

    Willie looks very cute. I’m confused. Is he now a pet or are you still taking him to a rehab center? How do you know what to feed it?

  5. Whitney Rhea says:

    I think that might even be better than puppies!

  6. debbie Roy says:

    oh please please keep taking pictures for us all to enjoy….he is the most adorable “pet” ever! I’m so jealous! He looks so content to be a part of you all’s life, Kels!

  7. Shanny says:

    Precious Willie! give him kisses from me. he looks adorable and oh so cuddly. I hope his leg gets help but he looks pretty comf.

  8. Dad says:

    The book made my eyes water.

  9. Anya says:

    oh, so adorable!

  10. Aunt Stace says:

    Oh my goodness. First, I am sad thinking of his mother looking for him. 😦 But I am happy a nice little couple is taking care of him. I’m definitely waiting to follow The Story of Willie the Fox.

  11. Dana says:

    I got to meet Willie the Fox yesterday and I must say he was so incredibly cute and sweet!!! I got to hold him and everything!!! It was quite exciting!!! 🙂

  12. Jeannine says:

    The boys would be turned inside out over him! He’s so adorable!

  13. Tracy says:

    He is so cute! Brock loved looking at these pics of Willie! I hope everything works out well for the lil guy!

  14. Abbs says:

    Kels, should we have a baby, er.. Fox shower for you? Hmm… Where would you register Petsmart, I guess? Wanna bring the kids to meet him.

Leave a comment