the princess and the pea

This is really not of general interest. But I have slept on a sloping mattress for over two years now. And trying to find a comfortable position where I don’t feel like I’m falling down a hill all night is a challenge. According to my pals over at Classic Furniture, the mattress is not the problem. Its the bed. Supposedly we do not have enough middle supports along the frame.

So. This Saturday we dismantled [read: took mattress and boxbrings off] the bed. We eventually made it to Lowes where Wes remembered that he forgot to measure the bed. Then we went home and carried on. Then we went up to the shop and forgot to bring the board. And then we went home and forgot to bring the saw.

I am now sleeping on my entire collection of Harry Potter books.

A little ‘wingardium leviosa’ is taking place because I’m sleeping much more levelly. I chuckled over this a bit and then remarked to Wesley that I felt a bit like the princess and the pea. And I received a blank stare and a ‘huh?’ In astonished tones, I exclaimed, ‘Wesley, you don’t know about the princess and the pea?!’ And he didn’t.

And then I remembered that this was pretty much his childhood.

And that there was little time to be interested in such things as the princess and the pea.

So I said, ‘Never mind.’

The end.

About A Story of Us

My grandparents 57th wedding anniversary and my first wedding anniversary motivated to journal the adventures life brought our way . I hope to amuse the friends and family I have all over the country and, when I am my grandmothers age, look back at what I have written and chuckle. It's been four years since I began and the snickers I bring myself as I look back propel me to write on. Cheers to the future and happy memories of the past.
This entry was posted in best of, Our Story. Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to the princess and the pea

  1. Rach says:

    HILARIOUS!!!!! Glad you’re sleeping better! 🙂

  2. Abbs says:

    Okay that was very funny lady! But I gotta ask, the time of the posting is 3:22am? Are the books helping, or are you just a major night owl?

  3. Jana says:

    So funny! And that photo is hilarious! 🙂

    • yay! glad its bringing a chuckle to your day, and abby, i picture it was around 11:22, possible 12:22. my blogs on a time frame of its own. i was soundly asleep on my level bed at 3:22

  4. Jeannine says:

    OKay – very funny story!! I especially like the ending, as I can relate to the thought – both in watching Wes grow up with just a passel of Cotten all-boy cousins – then thinking that my own boys probably have no clue about Princess and the Pea!!

  5. Anya says:

    I’d like to use Avada Kedavra on my own sloping mattress… but maybe I’ll try your idea first. 🙂 Glad you’re sleeping well.

  6. Dad says:

    Is one of those really your husband?

  7. Shanny says:

    love it!!!

  8. Aunt Stace says:

    Love the pic, including that nice wallpaper in the background!!
    I’m impressed with your innovative solution to a sloping mattress. But, don’t let it get too comfortable or it won’t ever get fixed the right way! Besides what if you get a hankering to re-read a little Henry…ahem, Harry Potter? 🙂

  9. Cathy says:

    Great posting! The picture makes the perfect finish! That wallpaper is something else… if the moms were in the picture we’d see puffed sleeves and large bows in the hair!

  10. your mother says:

    ok I wasn’t going to say anything…i blab too much on here…your father doesn’t seem to know parent comment etiquette and the limit there of…so i’m gonnna act like him! This line in the post just made me LOL! “I chuckled over this a bit and then remarked to Wesley that I felt a bit like the princess and the pea. And I received a blank stare and a ‘huh?’ In astonished tones, I exclaimed, ‘Wesley, you don’t know about the princess and the pea?!’ And he didn’t. ” I can SO see that blank stare and his response! The picture is priceless. We really need to know whose house this is….so we can call Southern Living and feature it next month…

    • amanda easley says:

      Kels – super funny story…I love how you write like you talk. I remarked about that just this night white chatting with two of your Texas pals, Jean and Whitney.

  11. Amy D says:

    Okay all….the wall is ……… Ronda and Phillips living room.I would be happy to add a few pics if you all would like additional decorating ideas : )

  12. Kristy says:

    You’re so funny, Kels! Great photo. Loved this post! So did everyone else, judging by the number of comments! (Is this a record?)

  13. Dana says:

    So I have to say that this post was so hysterical and it hits close to home!!! Jonathan and I have had numerous bed problems such as me sitting on the bed and it collapsed, one of the middle slats broke, and it also dipped in the middle. So I had Jonathan do some wonders on our bed and he made a lovely middle support for it and I am sleeping much more soundly without rolling towards the center! When I showed him the post tonight he also wondered what the Princess and the Pea was…its astonishing that guys don’t know about these lovely little fairly tails that we ladies learn to love and cherish (at least I love and cherish them)! PS. He says the picture was hilarious!!!

  14. Love this! I had to say that I can totally hear you saying to wes, “‘Wesley, you don’t know about the princess and the pea?!” – I’m pretty sure I’ve heard you say that to Me and Nick about different things we’ve been naive about. 🙂 Is that how you spell that? Probably not…oh, you get the point, huh?

  15. Diane says:

    Cute story! Can you let us know who all the kids are, especially which one is Wes?

Leave a Reply

