tips for the starving college student

First, I’d like to say that this daylight savings thing, although slightly messing up my eating and sleeping times, is absolutely luscious. I adore how late it stays light. It makes me happy. It makes me feel like spring is here. Especially when I came home today and saw tulips popping up from the ground and one yellow bloom on a daffodil. Hallelujah.

But back to this whole starving college student thing.

Make egg scrambles.

At least, that’s what my brother told me to do.

One Saturday morning, when we were out at Journey’s End, Davey and I took over the kitchen and made these egg scrambles. He told me that one day after work, he had gone over to a friends house, opened up the fridge and pulled out stuff for an egg scramble. He ate that, then went home and studied with another friend. At about 11 pm, he became starving hungry,  opened the fridge and pulled out stuff for another egg scramble and thus consumed 8 eggs in an evening.

So I learned how to make these egg scrambles. The trick is to pull anything appetizing out of your fridge, chunk it into a pan, saute it for a bit and add some eggs. Some trick.

And here we are, happily working away in the kitchen.

Davey concentrates hard on nicely chopping up the onions, (you saute those first) while I peel spuds. We nuked the spuds for a bit then put them in with the onions to crisp ’em up. When they were crisp, we took them back out.

All the while, sausage was sizzling, tomatoes and jalapeños were chopped and some spinach was rinsed.

Davey whisked away on the eggs, then gently poured into the onions.

And then we pretty much dumped everything else in, with the spinach coming in very last after everything else was cooked.

Sprinkle with cheese, and there you have it.

The end.

 

About A Story of Us

My grandparents 57th wedding anniversary and my first wedding anniversary motivated to journal the adventures life brought our way . I hope to amuse the friends and family I have all over the country and, when I am my grandmothers age, look back at what I have written and chuckle. It's been four years since I began and the snickers I bring myself as I look back propel me to write on. Cheers to the future and happy memories of the past.
This entry was posted in cayucos, family, food, Journeys End, Travels. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to tips for the starving college student

  1. Dad says:

    Totally, completely learned that from me. I am the self proclaimed king of scramblers. I would open up a killer greasy spoon breakfast joint, but need current job to buy eggs and finance college for non starving student pictured.

  2. your mother says:

    do you remember when you 2 were “young-un’s” during the summer you would plan the meal, buy the groceries and cook the dinner together? was it one night a week? nice to see it still works out good!

  3. Cathy says:

    Looks like some of the concoctions that Eric and Scott make quite frequently. It always smells sooo good!

  4. Chad says:

    Does it help to stick out your tongue while dicing the onions or is than optional?

  5. Lana M. says:

    I’m thinking the slice of san luis sourdough looks as good as anything.

Leave a Reply

