Journeys End

Our wonderful, lovely beach house. Dad bought it back in 1998 and while I don’t have too many memories of the time, I do remember coming down here for a month to work on the place. According to my recollection, we lived on bagels and every night before we went to bed, Dad would shake out my sleeping bag to make sure no spiders were hiding in the depths. Quarters were pretty primitive but I’ll show you those later. For now, I’d just like to show you the outside makeovers that JE has gone through in the last 13 years.

Back in 1998, it was a gloomy little cottage.

A year later, it was a cute, happy little cottage.

It stayed this way for a good ten years with Grama coming out occasionally to work her magic in the flower beds. Just about every year, we’d come down from the Bay Area and spend the last two weeks of summer and those were some of the best weeks of our life. We kayaked here, yither, and yond, had bon fires at the beach with fireworks stored up from the Fourth, tide-pooled around, boogie-boarded, surfed; we basically played until we dropped and then got up and did it all over again. Leaving to go back to school was pretty tragic.

Anyways, after a good many years, JE was ready for another face lift. For the first time since Dad got his iphone, I received no pictures as to how this makeover was going. So, when I arrived last Wednesday, I was pretty impressed.

We pulled up and gone was the picket fence, instead, this lovely entrance.

And then, a peak over the fence reveals this wondrous site.

Quite a transformation, eh?

I’m looking forward to showing you more, but right now, it’s sunny and the great outdoors is whispering my name so I believe I shall heed the call.

More to come on this lovely place.

About A Story of Us

My grandparents 57th wedding anniversary and my first wedding anniversary motivated to journal the adventures life brought our way . I hope to amuse the friends and family I have all over the country and, when I am my grandmothers age, look back at what I have written and chuckle. It's been four years since I began and the snickers I bring myself as I look back propel me to write on. Cheers to the future and happy memories of the past.
This entry was posted in cayucos, Journeys End. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Journeys End

  1. Dad says:

    I think you probably should have said, “Dad (and Mom) bought it back in 1998”. She was a major contributor to the decision. It was a team effort. Are you going to blog about going with no plumbing for a week and tiptoeing doing the loft stairs at 3 a.m. to use the rather primitive toilet in the neighbors garage?!

  2. Cathy says:

    Looking good, can’t wait to see the rest of the photos! Enjoy the next few sunny days. No rain til Friday!

  3. Stacy says:

    I love the new look, JE! Can’t wait to see the new backyard!

  4. amanda easley says:

    Wow, very impressive….I remember that old car!! It looks quite nice…love the new entrance and the yard furniture, really everything. Thanks for the post!

  5. Pingback: Journeys End | A Story of Us

  6. G and G says:

    W O W !
    We were out driving last week and happened by J E, and as we drove past out in the yard, was what we thought was a worker and he waved us in, so we got a mini-tour and guess what ! It was the owner himself. Great transformation, Beautiful !!

Leave a Reply

